Tarnsman of Gor : Gorean Saga

  • by John Norman
  • Narrated by Ralph Lister
  • Series: Gorean Saga
  • 7 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Tarl Cabot has always believed himself to be a citizen of Earth. He has no inkling that his destiny is far greater than the small planet he has inhabited for the first 20-odd years of his life. One frosty winter night in the New England woods, he finds himself transported to the planet of Gor, also known as Counter-Earth, where everything is dramatically different from anything he has ever experienced. It emerges that Tarl is to be trained as a Tarnsman, one of the most honored positions in the rigid, caste-bound Gorean society. He is disciplined by the best teachers and warriors that Gor has to offer...but to what end?
This is the first book of John Norman's popular and controversial Gorean Saga, a series of novels the author began in 1967 with Tarnsman of Gor and are now considered cult classics. This audiobook is based on the definitive edition recently published by E-Books.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A good yarn But...

When I first read the series ten years ago, it was quite disturbing in a chauvinistic in a sexual way. The story was good, and fun. the science must be taken with a the grain of salt, but that's ok its an adventure story not a text. These days with the heavy hitting S&M story's like Shades of Grey, John Norman has nothing of the shock value his tale had back in the day. The story ties aliens with abducted earthlings, medieval sword and arrow play into an entertaining series. If you are into online Role playing, whole lands are devoted to this series in Second life, so read it and live it as well if you desire. Enjoy!
Read full review

- Craig Walker

Hemingway of Fantasy

The detail in which the story was written immerses you into the world of Gor. Powerful character development and underlying social themes we struggle with even today will keep the reader coming back for more.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-15-2010
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio