Regular price: $6.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $6.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Monsters are on the rise and Gods walk the streets of Ashen Falls in four stories that serve as a prelude to The Eighth God.
"Melress and The Fading Man"
A young half-elven boy is kidnapped by a children's nursery rhyme.
"The Doves Head Inn"
Someone wants to get their hands on The Doves loot, but they have to get past two bouncers to do it.
"Melress Investigates"
Something is killing residents of Ashen Falls, and a young Melress is found standing next to a body. Can the Battle Mage find the real culprit?
"The Scarecrow"
It's a foggy night in Ashen Falls, and soon monsters walk the streets led by a man with one thing on his mind - revenge!
©2016 Paul S. Lavender (P)2017 Paul S. Lavender
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Kevin Mikaloff on 11-14-17

Entertaining listen

I liked this prologue to “The 8th God” a lot. It is a fantasy novel with some elements of other genres, like horror (zombie children!), and an underlying wit that makes it a fun listen. The narration by Damien Brunetto is very clear and easy to follow. I am interested to see what kind of shenanigans that the brothers, Pock and Cock, get up to in future installments.

Read More Hide me

By Daniel J Cadenbach on 10-20-17

A Great Prelude. Can't wait for the next book!

Loved the short stories. Can't wait to hear the books that they are a prelude to.
The narration was done quite well helping to enhance the world that the author has created.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Luke H. on 11-21-17

Lock, Stock & Two Smoking Wizards

This collection of short stories had me laughing aloud one minute and gripped the next. Top notch. The narrator is very good - not so much that he overshadows the writing (as some of the top ones do) but a good range of voices that don’t detract from the great narrative.

Read More Hide me

By Francis Dorrian on 10-08-17

'And not because he had a footlong sub'

So this is the first audiobook I've listened to since I was a kid that wasn't a Postman Pat adventure. Gotta say, I'm extremely impressed, I'm not really one for audiobooks (probably the Postman Pat association) but Lavender's stories kept me gripped throughout. Although I would describe his writing primarily as epic fantasy, I found Lavender's writing to be heavy on the black comedy end of things, and considering the kind of setting for this collection of stories it works awesomely. Humour is extremely difficult to pull off in fantasy, or in any book really, but Lavender does a brilliant job with Tales from Ashen Falls, and I found myself skipping back to listen to certain lines. My favourite was 'The Dove's Head Inn', purely for the banter and dialogue between two characters. In short, this is a collection of grimly hilarious little fairy tale-esque stories that, if you're like me, will have you giggling as you listen to them unfold. The quality of Lavender's humour and writing is astounding, and does a solid job of hinting at the wider world of his work. Also worthy of note is Damien Brunetto, the narrator - very professional reading from him, and it contributes to a well rounded product. So, overall? 5/5, couldn't be anything else, it's been far too long since a book has made me laugh so much.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc