Regular price: $19.60

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.60

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

It's obvious that Cletus Graeme - limping, mild-mannered scholarly - doesn't belong on a battle field, but instead at a desk working on his fourth book on battle strategy and tactics. But Bakhalla has more battlefields than libraries, and Graeme sees his small force of Dorsai - soldiers of fortune - as the perfect opportunity to test his theories. But if his theories or his belief in the Dorsai lead him astray, he's a dead man.
©1971 Gordon R. Dickson (P)2010 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Professor on 10-29-12

Childe Cycle or Dorsai series

These, in the day when heaven was falling,
The hour when Earth's foundations fled,
Followed their mercenary calling
And took their wages and are dead.

Their shoulders held the sky suspended;
They stood, and earth's foundations stay;
What God abandoned, these defended,
And saved the sum of things for pay.

"Epitaph on an Army of Mercenaries" by A.E. Housman

Unfortunately for us the series is not complete the author died before finishing the series without leaving any notes about his view of Dorsai universe.

This means we will never get the full picture, but it gives us an opportunity to read only the best!!!!

IMHO only two of the books worth reading :
1. "Dorsai"
2. "Tactics of Mistake"
and maybe "Necromancer"

the other books in the series do not match the high standards of these two.

Tactics of Mistake is a Prequel and tells about the time before the Dorsai, the time when the colonization only began and dorsai tactical doctrine and training just began it's long way to be the best.

Read More Hide me

8 of 10 people found this review helpful

By Derald on 07-17-11


I was totally surprised by Dickson. I had never heard of him or his series but the combination of action and deductive reasoning kept me eager to get to the next sequence of events throughout the the book. Always careful of honor, loyality and leadership to win the hearts of those around him.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Jeffrey Northam on 05-04-17

great book well delivered

this is the first of the Dorsi books I read ant it remains my favourite.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc