Stonefather : Mithermages

  • by Orson Scott Card
  • Narrated by Emily Janice Card
  • Series: Mithermages
  • 3 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When Runnel leaves his mountain valley to head for the great city of the water mages, he has no idea of his own magical talents. But he soon finds that without meaning to, he complicates and then endangers the lives of everyone he comes to know and care about. For when it comes to magic, there are rules and laws, and the untrained mage-to-be must be careful not to tap into deep forces and ancient enmities. Otherwise, other people might end up paying the price for his mistakes.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Familiar and unique--a breath of fresh air

Card shows here that he has continued to hone his writing skills long after success first claimed him. While there are bits and pieces in the text that remind one strongly of the Alvin Maker series, the context is unique enough that it does not feel rehashed or redundant.

The story moves quickly and does not mire the reader in details. It is a light read, yet still manages to develop a couple of characters well enough to be engaging.

I was concerned as I neared the end of this book that the dangling loose ends would be left that way, given the small amount of time remaining to tie them. I was happily surprised to find that, while the resolution was brief, it was also comprehensive and did not feel hurried.

The narrator is expressive and pleasant to listen to. I only wish all of my money here on Audible was as well spent as on this book.
Read full review

- Scott


Card is my favorite writer and with the exception of Ender's Game, I love him best when he is writing fantasy like this. This reminds me of Seventh Son and A Planet Called Treason (rewritten as Treason). This makes me want to go out and lay on stones. Card makes me believe I can meld into them.

Card junior is a perfect narrator for this.
Read full review

- Jim "The Impatient"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-31-2008
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.