Starship Troopers

  • by Robert A. Heinlein
  • Narrated by Lloyd James
  • 10 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Join the Army and See the Universe. That is the motto of The Third Space War, also known as The First Interstellar War, but most commonly as The Bug War. In one of Robert Heinlein's most controversial best sellers, a recruit of the future goes through the toughest boot camp in the universe - and into battle with the Terrain Mobile Infantry against mankind's most alarming enemy.


What the Critics Say

Hugo Award, 1960


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

DON'T see the movie, listen to this instead!

One of the crimes of this past century is the movie that was based on this classic novel. Someone ought to go to jail over that.

But this Blackstone audio production does real justice to this interesting novel. Don't get too caught up in the military aspect of it's plot. It's really a coming-of-age story. It's also a remarkably adult story. And of course, Heinlein gets on his soap box and finds space to put forward his rather unique conservative political positions. Agree with him or not, at least he will get you thinking.

If you are looking to share an audio book with a teenage son, this might be a good one. My 15 year old loved it, and it made for some interesting conversations.

Read full review

- Lisa

5 Star Story 1 Star Interpretation. 3 Overall

I love the story. It's well worth reading the actual book. But I cannot recommend the narrator for this one. And I was especially disappointed because the same narrator did such a GREAT job reading The Moon is a Harsh Mistress. But for this book he had a very flat, unemotional voice. And he kept hesitating and pausing in the middle of reading when it was obviously uncalled for. It was almost like he was unsure of himself and kept pausing to figure out how to read the next part. It was very annoying. Read the book - it's full of great ideas. But don't listen to this one.
Read full review

- Gerald

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-16-1999
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.