Star Wars Episode I : Star Wars

  • by Terry Brooks
  • Narrated by Alexander Adams
  • Series: Star Wars
  • 9 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In barren desert lands and seedy vast underwater cities and in the blackest depths of space...unfolds a tale of good and evil, of myth and magic, of innocence and power. At last the saga that captures the imagination of millions turns back in time to reveal its cloaked origins, the start of a legend, the story of Star Wars. Based on the screenplay by George Lucas, this novel by master storyteller Terry Brooks probes the depths of one of the greatest tales of our time, providing rich detail and insight into the minds and motives of the characters and shedding bold new light on Lucas' brilliant creation.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Better than the movie

Much like with Episode II, Lucas trimmed down a LOT of the story for "pacing" reasons when he made the final cut of Episode I. Unfortunately, those things would have added quite a bit to the story. In addition, Lucas has many movie-making skills, but writing dialogue and directing are NOT two of them.

Fortunately, all three of those issues are fixed in the novelizations for Episodes I and II. If you're interested in Star Wars enough to even be reading this review right now, you'll probably enjoy the book. It was much better than the movie, and there's quite a bit of content that didn't exist in the film.
Read full review

- Erik Blythe

More Insight

Like all books, the big advantage over the movie is the additional insight that you get. While the action does closely mirror the movie the book lets you get inside the minds of the main characters and understand them better. They also discuss the history of the Jedi and Sith, which is not discussed in the movie. There are also a number of scenes that didn't make it into the movie. I could have done without the sound effects though. They add nothing.
Read full review

- rob

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-27-2005
  • Publisher: Random House Audio