Star Wars: Dark Nest, Volume 1: The Joiner King

  • by Troy Denning
  • Narrated by Jonathan Davis
  • 5 hrs and 2 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Luke Skywalker is worried: A handful of Jedi Knights, including his nephew and niece, Jaina and Jacen Solo, have disappeared into the Unknown Regions in response to a strange cry for help that only they could hear. Now the alien Chiss have angrily lodged a formal complaint, accusing the missing Jedi of meddling in a border dispute between the Chiss and an unidentified aggressor.
Luke has no choice but to head to the Unknown Regions for serious damage control. Han and Leia follow, intent on protecting their children from what could be grave danger. But none of them are prepared for what they find when they reach their destination.
A colony of mysterious aliens is expanding toward the edge of Chiss space. The leader of the alien nest is resolute. Adept in the Force, he is drawing old friends to his side, compelling them to join the colony and meld their Force-abilities with his - even if it leads to all-out war.


What the Critics Say

"Davis's range is astounding. He captures numerous well-known voices - those of Luke Skywalker, Obi-Wan Kenobi, Princess Leia, Han Solo, the robots, Emperor Palpatine/Darth Sidious - with perfection....These are magnificent productions." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

better than decent

This really is a decent start to the transition from new jedi order era to legacy of the force era. Strong characters like Mara Jade are one of the reasons to regret Disney tossing the EU as canon. it's obvious this author wanted to tie in the same characters from star by star, (which was authored by the same person) and I think it was handled very well.
Read full review

- Lachlan

Kind of bland

Davis keep reverting to his southern accent making everyone sound like Lando. Really hard to stay immersed after listening to Marc thompsons narrations.
Read full review

- Anders

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-26-2007
  • Publisher: Random House Audio