Regular price: $27.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Alliance has toppled the tyrannical empire. It should be a time for celebration, but not for fighter pilot Captain Alisa Marchenko. After barely surviving a crash in the final battle for freedom, she's stranded on a dustball of a planet, billions of miles from her young daughter. She has no money or resources, and there are no transports heading to Perun, her former home and the last imperial stronghold.
But she has a plan.
Steal a dilapidated and malfunctioning freighter from a junkyard full of lawless savages. Slightly suicidal, but she believes she can do it. Her plan, however, does not account for the elite cyborg soldier squatting in the freighter, intending to use it for his own purposes. As an imperial soldier, he has no love for Alliance pilots. In fact he's quite fond of killing them.
Alisa has more problems than she can count, but she can't let cyborgs, savages, or ancient malfunctioning ships stand in her way. If she does she'll never see her daughter again.
Fans of Firefly and Star Wars should enjoy this fun, fast-paced new series from USA Today best-selling author Lindsay Buroker.
©2016 Lindsay Buroker (P)2016 Podium Publishing
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By dee on 11-01-16

Is it cake or biscuits?

I was once told that I could take a list of ingredients: flour, eggs, baking powder, water, etc., and make either a cake or biscuits because they each had the same ingredients. I think the same applies here for Lindsay Buroker. She had all the ingredients and produced cake. And of course, Kate Reading is my all time favorite female reader! She is the epitome of female readers starting with the Wheel of Time and in Star Nomad she has instilled the characters with personality and individuality. In some chapters, the script is almost cookie cutter but I think the narrator kept the plot flowing and I didn't lose enough interest to punch the return key to Audible. Cake but not German Chocolate......

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful


By Jim "The Impatient" on 10-26-16

OH YES, WERE A CHATTY BUNCH

DID I OFFEND HIM. HE WAS BEING CRANKY. DUST BUNNIES
I applaud the author and they way she treats her main character. The woman is a woman, but she is military trained and she can take care of her self. We are not beat over the head with how mistreated she was because of her gender, their is none of that kind of thing. It is obvious that she is setting up a series and getting her crew together. A cyborg for muscle, a pessimistic engineer, a kind of flighty science officer, etc.

WORM SUCK
My low rating is for a few other things. I got sick and tired of the junior high school bickering between the main character and cyborg, even though we know by the end of the book, they are going to be buddies. I am guessing, cause I quit at 5 hours. I thought the cargo hauler out running and out maneuvering war ships and everybody was a little hard to believe. Mostly I got tired of all the talking. Every single moved had to be discussed.

Kate Reading
It is always a pleasure to hear Reading's voice.

Read More Hide me

31 of 35 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Randal on 05-18-17

Possibly a good book spoiled by the reader

I bought this book from Amazon along with the audio, but tried the audio book first. The reader sounds coarse and robotic, and when she tries to do the gruff voice of Leonidas it simply grates on the ear. I'm not quite sure what her accent is, but it doesn't sound natural. I'm happy to have books read in any accent, but not when it sounds forced. Such a pity when I recently finished Longbourne and the reader was perfect. The story may be reasonable, but I confess that I couldn't finish the audiobook. I stopped with just over two hours to go. I think I'll have to wait a while and then try reading the book from the beginning instead. The accent inside my head may be better.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful


By Hazel Thomas on 12-27-16

firefly alternative

this is an alternative to the firefly story with many similar ideas all morphed to suit the writer. let's see how the saga moves forward as the first book was enjoyable.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc