Star Nomad : Fallen Empire

  • by Lindsay Buroker
  • Narrated by Kate Reading
  • Series: Fallen Empire
  • 9 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Alliance has toppled the tyrannical empire. It should be a time for celebration, but not for fighter pilot Captain Alisa Marchenko. After barely surviving a crash in the final battle for freedom, she's stranded on a dustball of a planet, billions of miles from her young daughter. She has no money or resources, and there are no transports heading to Perun, her former home and the last imperial stronghold.
But she has a plan.
Steal a dilapidated and malfunctioning freighter from a junkyard full of lawless savages. Slightly suicidal, but she believes she can do it. Her plan, however, does not account for the elite cyborg soldier squatting in the freighter, intending to use it for his own purposes. As an imperial soldier, he has no love for Alliance pilots. In fact he's quite fond of killing them.
Alisa has more problems than she can count, but she can't let cyborgs, savages, or ancient malfunctioning ships stand in her way. If she does she'll never see her daughter again.
Fans of Firefly and Star Wars should enjoy this fun, fast-paced new series from USA Today best-selling author Lindsay Buroker.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Is it cake or biscuits?

I was once told that I could take a list of ingredients: flour, eggs, baking powder, water, etc., and make either a cake or biscuits because they each had the same ingredients. I think the same applies here for Lindsay Buroker. She had all the ingredients and produced cake. And of course, Kate Reading is my all time favorite female reader! She is the epitome of female readers starting with the Wheel of Time and in Star Nomad she has instilled the characters with personality and individuality. In some chapters, the script is almost cookie cutter but I think the narrator kept the plot flowing and I didn't lose enough interest to punch the return key to Audible. Cake but not German Chocolate......
Read full review

- dee

Short Firefly/Serenity Clone w/ few improvements

Is there anything you would change about this book?

Characters should have more depth and more of the story should be told in each book.


How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

Felt like a short story, improve length and include an entire story arc.


What about Kate Reading’s performance did you like?

Kate Reading always does well and was the reason I bought the book to begin with.


If this book were a movie would you go see it?

No, it would take six such books to make a single movie


Any additional comments?

Story was short and failed to resolve any issues hinted at. Completed first two books and still little satisfaction. I recommend waiting until the first three books are packaged together to buy them.

Read full review

- Joshua T Collier

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-18-2016
  • Publisher: Podium Publishing