Star Nomad : Fallen Empire

  • by Lindsay Buroker
  • Narrated by Kate Reading
  • Series: Fallen Empire
  • 9 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Alliance has toppled the tyrannical empire. It should be a time for celebration, but not for fighter pilot Captain Alisa Marchenko. After barely surviving a crash in the final battle for freedom, she's stranded on a dustball of a planet, billions of miles from her young daughter. She has no money or resources, and there are no transports heading to Perun, her former home and the last imperial stronghold.
But she has a plan.
Steal a dilapidated and malfunctioning freighter from a junkyard full of lawless savages. Slightly suicidal, but she believes she can do it. Her plan, however, does not account for the elite cyborg soldier squatting in the freighter, intending to use it for his own purposes. As an imperial soldier, he has no love for Alliance pilots. In fact he's quite fond of killing them.
Alisa has more problems than she can count, but she can't let cyborgs, savages, or ancient malfunctioning ships stand in her way. If she does she'll never see her daughter again.
Fans of Firefly and Star Wars should enjoy this fun, fast-paced new series from USA Today best-selling author Lindsay Buroker.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

OH YES, WERE A CHATTY BUNCH

DID I OFFEND HIM. HE WAS BEING CRANKY. DUST BUNNIES
I applaud the author and they way she treats her main character. The woman is a woman, but she is military trained and she can take care of her self. We are not beat over the head with how mistreated she was because of her gender, their is none of that kind of thing. It is obvious that she is setting up a series and getting her crew together. A cyborg for muscle, a pessimistic engineer, a kind of flighty science officer, etc.

WORM SUCK
My low rating is for a few other things. I got sick and tired of the junior high school bickering between the main character and cyborg, even though we know by the end of the book, they are going to be buddies. I am guessing, cause I quit at 5 hours. I thought the cargo hauler out running and out maneuvering war ships and everybody was a little hard to believe. Mostly I got tired of all the talking. Every single moved had to be discussed.

Kate Reading
It is always a pleasure to hear Reading's voice.
Read full review

- Jim "The Impatient"

Is it cake or biscuits?

I was once told that I could take a list of ingredients: flour, eggs, baking powder, water, etc., and make either a cake or biscuits because they each had the same ingredients. I think the same applies here for Lindsay Buroker. She had all the ingredients and produced cake. And of course, Kate Reading is my all time favorite female reader! She is the epitome of female readers starting with the Wheel of Time and in Star Nomad she has instilled the characters with personality and individuality. In some chapters, the script is almost cookie cutter but I think the narrator kept the plot flowing and I didn't lose enough interest to punch the return key to Audible. Cake but not German Chocolate......
Read full review

- dee

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-18-2016
  • Publisher: Podium Publishing