Spindrift : Coyote Universe

  • by Allen Steele
  • Narrated by Andy Caploe
  • Series: Coyote Universe
  • 12 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

June 1, 2288 - Europe's first starship, the EASS Galileo, launches on its maiden voyage to investigate an unidentified object, code-named Spindrift, which is traveling outside our solar system. An object that may be alien in origin. The Galileo disappears soon after...February 1, 2344 - The Galileo's shuttle returns to Earth carrying three surviving expedition members, who still appear to be the same age they were when they departed. They report that they have, indeed, made contact with an extraterrestrial race - and become enmeshed in a conflict that brought them face to face with the most apocalyptic force in the galaxy. It is up to Director General John Shillinglaw to piece together the puzzle created by these events - for the survivors tell their stories from their own conflicting perspectives. And the truth is more difficult to glean than it appears.BONUS AUDIO: Includes an exclusive introduction written and recorded by author Allen Steele.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Should have been a novella

I stayed with this book because in the midst of all the unfunny jokes and the stupid characters, there was an actual good story. The telling of the story was just too tedious at times. If a character leaves a room and goes to meet someone in another room, you may get (he grabbed the door knob and turned it counter-clockwise, pulling the door inward he stepped into the narrow hall, walking at a brisk pace he noticed a smug on the wall ....) Boring detail that does not add to the story. Then the lead character is a scientist who is a mass murderer, who the author thinks we should like. He smokes pot so the narrator gives this genius scientist a surfer dude voice. This guy killed 30,000 people and tried to kill more and we are suppose to feel sorry for him because others won't include him in there circles. In the end the scientist does nine years for killing 30,000 people. Am I the only one that sees something wrong with this?
Read full review

- Jim "The Impatient" "My taste differs from kid books to gory horror books."

Great author, terrible production

I've loved Steele's other Coyote universe books, but I couldn't finish Spindrift. The voice talent was just awful. The narrator and main characters were unimpressive at best, and some of the supporting voices - the main scientist in particular - were so whiny, overwrought, and just plain annoying that it was unlistenable. I hate to downvote what is probably a good book based solely on the reading, but do NOT purchase this audiobook. Get Steele's Coyote books in audio, but get this one in print instead.
Read full review

- J. Huntington

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-06-2009
  • Publisher: Audible Studios