Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Suicide Squad meets Galaxy Quest, in this fast-paced, laugh-out-loud novel from the author the Independent calls, "the new Terry Pratchett." After saving an alien race and its god from a sentient zombie virus, Cal Carver and the crew of the Dread Ship Shatner are feeling pretty pleased with themselves. Unfortunately, the creator of the zombie virus is out for revenge, and has recruited the galaxy's deadliest - and oldest - assassin, Lady Vajazzle, to hunt Space Team down. But when Vajazzle discovers the crew is under the protection of a wolf-like species known as the Greyx, she is forced to implement a Plan B so diabolical it threatens to plunge the entire star system into chaos. With time running out, Cal must find a way to outmaneuver and outgun the galaxy's greatest killer before she murders his friends, butchers the Greyx, and buys the whole galaxy a one-way ticket to total annihilation.
©2016 Barry J. Hutchison (P)2017 Barry J. Hutchison
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By singh on 09-19-17

Much, much, MUCH better than...

I don't know this jewel of a series has not been more widely recognized for its brilliance!

Anyone who enjoyed the movie or show "Serenity" will heartily enjoy the adventures of Captain Cal Carver and his Space Team.

Suspend disbelief, turn down the critical voice in your head and let yourself get lost in the lovable, oh-so-cheesy, entertaining banter provided by Mr. Hutchison and his characters.

Give it a shot and give it a thumbs up for not taking itself too seriously (I'm talking to Alerón Kong here), making us laugh, and still providing a great story.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful


By Heather North on 08-12-17

Hilarious

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

This book hilarious! I was laughing so hard I cried.

Any additional comments?

I would recommend this for fans of Guardians of the Galaxy and Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. Smartass and sometimes clueless lead character makes for many funny situations. The narrator does an excellent job of bringing the characters to life. Highly recommend giving this one a listen. I received a free copy of this audiobook at my request and I have voluntarily left this review.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Norma Miles on 08-28-17

Worst pilot ever.

Any additional comments?

A comedy science fiction story, rather than a sci fi story with comedy: very different. And whilst it has the potential to be a very funny film, given excellent actors playing it for real (as opposed to for laughs as there is sufficient built into the text already, for example the astonishingly bad piloting of Lauren, able to accidentally land on the only building within a thousand miles of desert), I did not enjoy it as a book.

This was by no means the fault of narrator Phil Thorn, who read flawlessly with good intonation and understanding, and expression of the text as well as giving individual and differentiated voices to the various protagonists. A good performance, although I did increase the listening speed to 1.25, finding his pace just a tad too slow.

The book is well written and immaginative in content. If near slapstick humour is your thing, this is probably for you. Sadly, it did not appeal to me. My thanks, however, to the rights holder who freely gifted me a copy of the book, via Audiobook Boom.

Read More Hide me

By Peter on 08-11-17

Fun and lighthearted mad sci-fi adventure.

A fun lighthearted adventure with a tongue in cheek attitude, this book made me smile with in the first few minutes, some bits of this book are truly hilarious. There is a great cast of characters and the banter between them really makes this an enjoyable listen from start to finish.

Barry J. Hutchison’s writing is smart, self-aware and funny, all the characters are well written with tons of personality. Some of the lines in this book are amazing, I will not say anything else about them to avoid spoilers.

Even though the plot has many a dark moment there is always the sense of fun, I would love to see this as a TV series. I feel like if the people that made Shaun of the Dead and Zombieland got together to make something like Red Dwarf you might get something like this.

The narration is clear, easy to listen to and conveyances to the tone of each situation well. Each character has a unique voice that really suits them enhancing the whole experience. Phil Thron has their timing down just right to help make the jokes just that little bit funnier.

This is just a great book and I highly recommend it.
5/5


I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc