Soul of the World

  • by David Mealing
  • Narrated by Rebecca Hamilton
  • 24 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Three lines of magic must be conquered, and three heroes must rise in the first book of this epic fantasy trilogy for fans of Mistborn and The Name of the Wind!
It is a time of revolution. In the cities, food shortages stir citizens to riots against the crown. In the wilds, new magic threatens the dominance of the tribes. And on the battlefields, even the most brilliant commanders struggle in the shadow of total war. Three lines of magic must be mastered in order to usher in a new age, and three heroes must emerge.
Sarine is an artist on the streets of New Sarresant whose secret familiar helps her uncover bloodlust and madness where she expected only revolutionary fervor.
Arak'Jur wields the power of beasts to keep his people safe, but his strength cannot protect them from war among themselves.
Erris is a brilliant cavalry officer trying to defend New Sarresant from an enemy general armed with magic she barely understands.
Each must learn the secrets of their power in time to guide their people through ruin. But a greater evil may be trying to stop them.
Start listening to this gripping, vibrant, and imaginative addition to the epic fantasy canon for fans of Brandon Sanderson, Brian McClellan, and Miles Cameron.

More

What the Critics Say

"The first book in The Ascension Cycle is an impressive fantasy debut with three main compelling characters and a unique magic system sure to capture a fantasy reader's attention...Mealing does a fabulous job with the intricate world-building and leaves the reader wanting to get their hands on the sequel." (RT Book Reviews)
"Imaginative and elaborate epic fantasy debut.... Strong characters and rich worldbuilding." (Publishers Weekly)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-27-2017
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio