Regular price: $30.09

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $30.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

My resume is pretty full: I've cow-tipped the Minotaur, decimated a gang of weredragons, sucker-punched an angel, and ate pancakes with the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse....
I've kidnapped one of the most powerful wizards on the planet and slaughtered the Brothers Grimm. I'm kind of a big deal.
But I never thought I'd find myself at a crossroads, a pawn in a deadly game that I hadn't known existed, willing to sell my soul to save the life of someone I loved. That's when I learned true fear, because the world I thought I knew was all just smoke and mirrors, and I was just a puppy playing amongst wolves.
©2016 Argento Publishing (P)2017 Tantor
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Yvonne on 09-26-17

One of the best in the series

I began this book with much trepidation. The last Nate Temple; story was thrown together just to get something out to the public. This told a great story!

Unlike the Grimm story, where Nate could not successfully execute a spell, he is a lot better here. His entourage has expanded with the girls having paranormal abilities and Alucard filling in as Nate’s right-hand man. We have seen where Nate’s friends have waded into fights without regard to the well fair. Gunnar lost a job, which he loved, lost an eye and Asley lost her humanity. Tory carries resentment because Misha, her lover, was not resurrected but Indie was resurrected.

Many hesitate calling Nate to task for his irresponsible actions. Gunner calls it like it is and does it with scaling venom. I know that we must suspend a certain about belief in reading urban paranormal genre. Yet, I felted it was a bit illogical for his friends to never think about themselves. For all his good qualities Nate is’ stupid, irresponsibility and careless. My guy Gunner called him on his behavior. Unusually it the female protagonist who disregard advice. While Nate is still being the immature two-year old despite what his parents and Pandora advise.

Grimms are still a threat and more characters are being introduced. It is interesting to discover their characterization, friend or foe. Unless the character has been killed all members, of the boys club make an appearance, the four horsemen of the apocalypse, Alucard, Achilles, and Asterion.

Nate is still working out his talents as a marker. At least he is not a bumbling idiot. We can hold our heads up and he beats some ass. There is now a story line and a villain in place for our heroes focus upon. If Nate stays focus of really training, I expect an exciting series to continue.

One problem for Nate to solve, Alucard, the vampire, cannot operator at full strength unless he is taking blood from the source. Unfortunately, because he is now pledged to be with Nate, he has sworn off people blood. Are we expected to accept Alucard for a shadow of his former self?

This is the Nate that we fell in love with in the first book of the series.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By BennahPhelps on 12-29-17

Another fine book

I admit, it took me forever to warm up to this narrator. He was too zen sounding for such an action packed book, but now I can't imagine anyone else but him.

The story, as usual, is action packed from beginning to end. However, towards the end, it got a little confusing on who the big bad was and how Nate was taking care of things. Despite that, it was still another wild ride with Nate and friends, and two hours after finishing this book, I have already downloaded and started listening to the next installment in the series.

If you are a fan of urban fantasy, this is a MUST to add to your library.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By wayne on 09-12-17

ring enjoyable

I really enjoyed this book I had a job to stop listening. I finished listening to it at 3 in the morning tired today but well worth it really good book series

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc