• She Is the Darkness

  • Chronicles of The Black Company, Book 8
  • By: Glen Cook
  • Narrated by: Jonathan Davis
  • Series: Black Company, Book 7
  • Length: 17 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Release date: 08-31-10
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Audible Studios
  • 4.5 (425 ratings)

Regular price: $24.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The wind whines and howls with bitter breath. Lightning snarls and barks. Rage is an animate force upon the plain of glittering stone. Even shadows are afraid. At the heart of the plain stands a vast grey stronghold, unknown, older than any written memory. One ancient tower has collapsed across the fissure. From the heart of the vastness comes a great, deep, slow breath like that of a slumbering world-heart, cracking the olden silence.
Death is eternity. Eternity is stone. Stone is silence. Stone cannot speak, but stone remembers.
So begins the next movement of Glittering Stone....The tale again comes to us from the pen of Murgen, Annalist and Standard Bearer of the Black Company, whose developing powers of travel through space and time give him a perspective like no other.
Led by the wily commander, Croaker, and the Lady, the Company is working for the Taglian government, but neither the Company nor the Taglians are overflowing with trust for each other. Arrayed against both is a similarly tenuous alliance of sorcerers, including the diabolical Soulcatcher, the psychotic Howler, and a four-year-old child who may be the most powerful of all.
©1997 Glen Cook (P)2010 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By FM on 10-19-14

Good story, good enough reader

If you have gotten this far in the Black Company series, you are listening because you are committed to finding out their final fate. In case you came to this book without reading the previous 7 books, this book is in the middle of a very long story line, and even though you can read it as a standalone book, much of the references to prior events won't make sense. As a story, this is not the best nor is it the worst of the series. It is certainly worth a credit. though.

My main problem with this book and its predecessor in the series, Bleak Seasons, is the reader. Jonathan Davis is not the worst reader I have ever heard, and I am not unhappy enough to stop listening. He is, however, uninspiring as a reader. There is very little nuance to his voice, and it is incredibly hard to tell when the main character is thinking to himself or speaking to someone. There is just no aural cue to distinguish between the two. There are some characters where he uses nearly the same accents, so telling who is speaking is only possible by context clues in the dialogue. I would definitely not seek him out as a reader in other books. That said, I haven't been so annoyed that I felt the need to read the paperback copy I have on my bookshelf. So maybe a 5 out of 10.

Read More Hide me

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

By johnathan shane sevier on 01-16-18


loved this book Glen Cook amazing. Johnathan Davis amazing as well. holy crap listen and enjoy

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc