Shadowgod : Shadowkings

  • by Michael Cobley
  • Narrated by Philip Rose
  • Series: Shadowkings
  • 18 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Shadowgod continues the epic tale, begun in Shadowkings, of resolve and sacrifice, and a world teetering on the brink of endless, terrible night.
A harsh winter is settling in across the land and the Shadowkings' deepest, darkest plans are hatching...the worst is yet to come. Ikarno Mazaret, now Lord Regent, still grieves over the death of his beloved, the mage Suviel.
Ranging forth from the city of Besh-Darok, he takes ever more perilous risks. Tauric has been crowned Emperor yet feel increasingly powerless to influence events. Despair begins to taint his every decision. Keren Asherol remains haunted by her shattering encounter with one of the Daemonkind, while her twin, the mirrorchild Nerek, is dogged by sinister omens. And far to the north the Shadowking Byrnak broods on his towertop.
Mistrustful of his fellow-Shadowkings and harried by a ghostly fragment of the Lord of Twilight, he knows he must utterly crush the Imperial remnants and their allies, despite the powers of the goddess Earthmother.


What the Critics Say

"It is also one of the most gritty, grimy and evocative fantasy worlds. The author's description bring to mind an easily visualisation of the places his characters visit (and, in the case of the docks of Scallow, the stench of this world). There's none of the sanitised fairytale fantasy world here... If your idea of fantasy is C.S. Lewis this is probably not your cup of tea, but if you want a rugged more realistic depiction of a dark ages world with magic thrown in then I would suggest you go out and buy book one, read it and then move straight into this volume." (Eternal Night)
"Shadowkings, was brutal, cruel and realistic in a way genre usually avoids. Shadowgod, his second, is not only lighter, it is better written and makes good use of the world Cobley has created... writing to rival David Gemmell." (Guardian)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-22-2014
  • Publisher: Audible Studios