Regular price: $31.93

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Bean, once the smallest student at the Battle School, and Ender Wiggin's right hand, has grown to be a power on Earth. He served the Hegemon as strategist and general in the terrible wars that followed Ender's defeat of the alien empire attacking Earth. Now he wishes for a safe place to build a family, something he has never known, but there is nowhere on Earth that does not harbor his enemies; old enemies from the days in Ender's Jeesh, new enemies from the wars on Earth. To find security, Bean and Petra must once again follow in Ender's footsteps. They must leave Earth behind, in the control of the Hegemon, and look to the stars.
Browse more titles in the Ender Wiggin series.
©2005 Orson Scott Card (P)2005 Audio Renaissance, a division of Holtzbrinck Publishers, LLC
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

2005 Audie Award Nominee, Science-Fiction "The novels of Orson Scott Card's Ender series are an intriguing combination of action, military and political strategy, elaborate war games, and psychology." (USA Today)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Joe on 06-13-05


The Enderverse

This is my favorite science fiction series. The characters are easy to identify with, and you will find yourself sucked into this imaginary universe, nick named the Enderverse by fans.

Recommended order of reading (in my opinion): Ender?s Game, Ender's Shadow, Shadow of the Hegemon, Shadow Puppets, Shadow of the Giant, Speaker for the Dead, Xenocide, Children of the Mind. Reading the books in this order will keep you interested and keep the story moving more naturally.

If after reading all of these wonderful books you are still itching for an Enderverse fix then read First Meetings. The list above is sorted by the Enderverse timeline. Meaning that the flow of events in the stories are uninterrupted. If you were to read the books in the order they were published, you would bounce back and forth in between time and few of the plot twists in future books would be revealed before you wanted them to be known. First Meetings, however contains short stories that occur both before and in between the list above within the Enderverse.

Read More Hide me

68 of 68 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Don on 03-17-05

Another Good Story in the Series

Continues the adventures of Petra and Bean along with closure to the Hegemon story. Excellent performance by all the voices. Leaves the door open to more stories.

Read More Hide me

12 of 13 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Peter on 12-02-09

Let's me forgive the last two in the series.

This book redeems the previous two books in the series and I am now happy that I finished the "Shadow" series. The storyline speeds up and improves in this book compared to the previous two offerings and the whole saga is nicely rounded off.

I still hold that by writing these Shadow books, OSC has undermined the original four "Ender" books, mainly eroding the strength of character and actions of Ender and Peter Wiggin. This is a shame, as these two characters had been so well worked on and developed by OSC in the original series that they each had a magically unique aura by the series end.

Nevertheless, reading the eight books has been a great experience and I would strongly recommend reading the first seven to reach this brilliant book. I will probably continue with the other 3 books in what has been termed the "Enderverse".

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By GhostMuppet on 04-09-13

Slightly better, but still a shadow on Enders Game

Finally, the series of Bean has been completed. The series started off so well, but really trailed off. The conclusion was pretty predictable and took some time to reach that conclusion.

The audio itself is not too bad, nothing to write home about. If you have read to this book, you may as well continue and complete the series.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews