Regular price: $21.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $21.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

She's the oldest person in the Dragaeran Empire, a military genius and master of sorcery whose own story stretches back to before the dawn of history. She's Sethra Lavode, the undead Enchantress of Dzur Mountain. Now, after a long absence, she's returned to take an active role in the Empire's affairs-and the affairs of her friends Khaavren, Pel, Tazendra, Aerich, and all their friends and relations.
Since the day Adron's Disaster reduced Dragaera City to a barren sea of amorphia, the Empire has been in ruins. The Emperor is gone, along with the Orb that was both his badge of office and the source of the magical power that in former times was practically a public utility. Trade has collapsed. Brigands rule the roads. Plagues sweep through the population. And an ambitious Dragonlord, the Duke of Kna, has moved to rebuild the Empire-in his own name, of course. Unknown to him, Sethra Lavode has already helped the Phoenix Zerika, true heir to the throne, retrieve the Orb from the Paths of the Dead. Sethra means to see Zerika on the throne. But making it so will entail a climactic battle of sorcery and arms...
©2004 Steven Brust, John M. Ford (P)2012 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By D on 02-03-15

A series that shouldn’t be missed

I’m amazed at the lack of interest in this series; at least there appears to be a lack of interest given the scant amount of reviews. Steven Brust has created a rich and deeply dimensional world that rivals any such series; The Wheel of Time or The Sword of Truth series for instance. In fact not only are these books great story telling but the highly verbose writing style that Steven Brust uses paying homage to the late-great Alexandre Dumas is highly entertaining in its own right. “Sethra Lavode” is the final book in this history of Drageria which begins with “The Phoenix Guards” and relates directly to his “Taltos” series. The books, by themselves, are fantastic adventures but they also give incredible insight into many of the prominent characters in the Taltos series. Both series are highly entertaining and I believe that either could be read before the other. So if anyone happens to read this review I highly recommend both series. “I nearly pretend that you might enjoy them, although I have been waiting nearly an hour for some sort of response.”

Read More Hide me

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc