Regular price: $56.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $56.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A group of adventurers searching for a cure for comatose children find themselves trapped in a sequence of virtual worlds, the only opponents of a conspiracy of the rich to live forever in a dream. Now, they are forced to make an uneasy alliance with their only surviving former enemy against his treacherous sidekick Johnny Wulgaru, a serial killer with a chance to play God forever.
Few science fiction sagas have achieved the level of critical acclaim - and best-selling popularity - as Tad Williams' Otherland novels. A brilliant blend of science fiction, fantasy, and technothriller, it is a rich, multilayered epic of future possibilities.
©2002 Tad Williams (P)2015 Penguin Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Lora S. on 06-07-17

Too long, and not long enough

Yay! I’m finally finished with Otherland. And Boo! I’m already finished with Otherland.

This fourth book is the longest of the series. Some parts of it feel too long.

The Otherland system is dying. The operating system (the Other) and John Wulgaru are locked in a duel to control the network. For most of the book it appears that Wulgaru, aka Dread, will eventually win and torture all the brave adventurers we have been following throughout the series to death, on line and off. It takes the resources of everyone to finally defeat both him and Felix Jongleur. Meanwhile, the company of adventurers is split up in new and non-intuitive ways as they wander through dark, empty, and largely undefined spaces whose monotony is broken only by the seemingly limitless array of monsters Dread manages to conjure up.

In the end, the on-line adventurers finally manage to unravel the whole story of Otherland, and their off-line helpers manage to destroy Jongleur and his associates and send Dread to a state that inescapably manages to remind one of falling alive into the Hell of Incessant Suffering.

As always, George Newbern manages to keep the story interesting even through the painfully long parts of minimal progress.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

By Lisa A. Lowery on 11-30-17

Wonderful, mesmerizing story,

I wish there was more story! I find it amazing how predictive this is, we may not be too far off from virtual online worlds, and what will happen to humanity? Great series and narration!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc