Rosemary and Rue : October Daye

  • by Seanan McGuire
  • Narrated by Mary Robinette Kowal
  • Series: October Daye
  • 11 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The world of Faerie never disappeared: it merely went into hiding, continuing to exist parallel to our own. Secrecy is the key to Faerie’s survival—but no secret can be kept forever, and when the fae and mortal worlds collide, changelings are born. Half-human, half-fae, outsiders from birth, these second-class children of Faerie spend their lives fighting for the respect of their immortal relations. Or, in the case of October “Toby” Daye, rejecting it completely.
After getting burned by both sides of her heritage, Toby has denied the fae world, retreating into a “normal” life. Unfortunately for her, Faerie has other ideas. The murder of Countess Evening Winterrose, one of the secret regents of the San Francisco Bay Area, pulls Toby back into the fae world. Unable to resist Evening’s dying curse, which binds her to investigate, Toby is forced to resume her old position as knight errant to the Duke of Shadowed Hills and begin renewing old alliances that may prove her only hope of solving the mystery...before the curse catches up with her.

More

What the Critics Say

"Well researched, sharply told, highly atmospheric and as brutal as any pulp detective tale, this promising start to a new urban fantasy series is sure to appeal to fans of Jim Butcher or Kim Harrison." (Publishers Weekly)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A fairy tale with grit.

An amazing beginning to a wonderful series. A fairy tale for adults. McGuire does a great job building this world and giving characters some nice depth, without sacrificing action or a nice pace to the story. The narrator was very good and enhanced McGuire's work. Very entertaining. I have already downloaded the second book (A Local Habitation) and look forward to the third book which should be released in September.
Read full review

- Jan

Missed Matched Pair

I am currently on my third attempt to make it through this novel. I've put some thought into why Rosemary and Rue isn't working for me. I know that audible reviewers giving negative feedback are rarely appreciated, but here are my thoughts. It seems that McGuire has some fun ideas for her story line. In this case, however, they fall flat. From the opening scene, I found myself a little curious to see what would happen next but mostly completely unaffected by the main character. There is absolutely no character development and I kept thinking "Why is she doing this?" "Why should we care?" "Why so dramatic?" The narrator adds to this sense of blah. Its like watching a soap opera with monotone actors. You know there should be some drama in there somewhere, but can find it in the performance. I can only recommend this book if you are ready for a strange pity party. There are so many fun options in this genre. I would definitely recommend the Mercedes Thompson Series by Patricia Briggs, The Sookie Stackhouse Series by Charlaine Harris or Stray by Rachel Vincent long before I sent you to Rosemary and Rue. Good reading
Read full review

- G Reinhardt

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-08-2010
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio