Ringworld's Children : Ringworld

  • by Larry Niven
  • Narrated by Barrett Whitener
  • Series: Ringworld
  • 9 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Ringworld is a landmark engineering achievement, a flat band 3-million-times the surface area of Earth, encircling a distant star. Home to trillions of inhabitants, not all of which are human, and host to amazing technological wonders, the Ringworld is unique in all of the universe. Explorer Louis Wu, an Earth-born human who was part of the first expedition to Ringworld, becomes enmeshed in interplanetary and interspecies intrigue as war, and a powerful new weapon, threatens to tear the Ringworld apart forever. Now, the future of Ringworld lies in the actions of its children: Tunesmith, the Ghould protector; Acolyte, the exiled son of Speaker-to-Animals, and Wembleth, a strange Ringworld native with a mysterious past. All must play a dangerous role in order to save Ringworld's population, and the stability of Ringworld itself.
Blending awe-inspiring science with non-stop action and fun, Ringworld's Children, the fourth installment of the multiple-award-winning saga, is the perfect introduction for readers new to this New York Times best-selling series and for long-time fans of Larry Niven's Ringworld.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

where are books 2 & 3 from this series?

This is book 4 in the Ringworld Series. I enjoyed Ringworld and thought this was the sequel, but quickly became lost when starting to listen to it. I did some research and found that the 2nd book is called "The Ringworld Engineers", and the 3rd is called "The Ringworld Throne". Unfortunately, these do not seem to be available on Audible. Not sure how to rate it since my issue is with Audible and not the book - so going with 3 stars.
Read full review

- Jason

Distracting narration.

Mispronounced words, ridiculous voicing of characters. Narration is just plain terrible. Acolyte sounds like a silly version of the cowardly lion. Really detracted from what would otherwise be a good addition to the series.
Read full review

- Wayne K. Werner

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-11-2004
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.