Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Immortality is never guaranteed.
As much as she dreams of a simpler existence, blood and violence are Mira's way of life. Former gladiator turned freedom fighter; she's carved a trail from New Haven to Caldera Grove and back, freeing her people, the vampires, from enslavement by the humans.
But with victory almost within reach, a new and powerful enemy emerges. One who'll be satisfied with nothing less than complete subjugation - or destruction - of all supernatural beings.
With a secret army of his own, he's more than prepared for any resistance Mira and her patchy rebel forces can offer, and demands their immediate surrender.
Never one to back away from a fight, Mira believes she's ready for anything. But with the battle lines drawn she will be forced to make the ultimate sacrifice.
Kill or be killed.
©2015 Katie Salidas (P)2016 K.A. Salidas
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Terri on 07-06-16

Deep In The Heart of Texas

Mira and her motley crew of beings are back. A council and several other Iron Gate cities comprised of vampires, humans, shifters, and otherkin would have a plethora of issues without the potential for another fight for freedom and survival. This time they are threatened from the southern city of Lone Star. And sadly Lone Star is full of unbending, bigoted politicians and one of the scariest group of Texas Rangers that I have run across.

K.A. Salidas brings us the fifth and second to the last installment of Chronicles of the Uprising. She continues to entertain us with continued world building, a cast of diverse and intriguing characters, and a story designed to keep you on the edge of your seat.

Kerri McCann again gives this vast variety of characters great voices and personalities. You can feel the emotional turmoil. I especially like her rendition of Justine.

What the heck is that hideous smell coming from the regent and his cronies? It certainly is not anything like “the sage in bloom is like perfume, deep in the heart of Texas”.

This audiobook was provided for an unbiased review.

I cannot wait until "Annihilation” the sixth and final part is released on audio.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Ryssa sadusky on 09-01-16

another great installment of this series

this series has been so great to read. each book filed with emotion.. loved it

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc