Reaper's Gale : Malazan Book of the Fallen

  • by Steven Erikson
  • Narrated by Michael Page
  • Series: Malazan Book of the Fallen
  • 43 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

All is not well in the Letherii Empire. Rhulad Sengar, the Emperor of a Thousand Deaths, spirals into madness, surrounded by sycophants and agents of his Machiavellian chancellor, while the Letherii secret police conduct a campaign of terror against their own people. The Errant, once a far-seeing god, is suddenly blind to the future. Conspiracies seethe throughout the palace as the empire edges closer to all-out war with the neighboring kingdoms.
The great Edur fleet draws ever closer. Among its warriors are Karsa Orlong and Icarium Lifestealer - each destined to cross blades with the emperor himself. A band of fugitives seeks a way out of the empire. One of them, Fear Sengar, must find the soul of Scabandari Bloodeye. Yet traveling with them is Scabandari’s most ancient foe: Silchas Ruin. His motives are anything but certain, for the wounds he carries on his back, made by the blades of Scabandari, are still fresh.
Fate decrees that there is to be a reckoning - a reckoning on an unimaginable scale. This is a brutal, harrowing novel of war, intrigue, and dark, uncontrollable magic; this is epic fantasy at its most imaginative, storytelling at its most thrilling.

More

Audible Editor Reviews

“The kind of epic narrative that will have you scrambling for more.” —Stephen R. Donaldson
“Extraordinarily enjoyable… Erikson is a master of lost and forgotten epochs, a weaver of ancient epics.” —Salon

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Michael Page kills another epic series

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

Anyone who enjoys poor, naive, simplistic narrators.


What was one of the most memorable moments of Reaper's Gale?

How the publishers ruined potentially the finest fantasy series with a catastrophically poor decision to remove Ralph Lister.


Would you be willing to try another one of Michael Page’s performances?

Never. This is the fifth or sixth fantasy series ruined by either thIS narrator or the audiobook publisher replacing with similar narrators.


What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

Over the last decade it has become obvious to me that professional, sophisticated, and dynamic narrators in fantasy and science-fiction writing may be the finest, most pure forms of entertainment available.

Narrators that set the standard and make for exciting, compelling audiobooks:

Ralph Lister, Steven Pacey, Rupert Degas, Roy Dotrice, Christian Rodska, Steven Brand, Peter Kenny, Toby Longworth, Simon Vance (sometimes).


Any additional comments?

PUBLISHERS PLEASE TAKE NOTE. MIRROR FUTURE NARRATORS ON THE MEN ABOVE. THEY ARE THE ONLY GOOD NARRATORS.

Read full review

- gjm

This series just keeps getting better!!

One of my favorites of the series so far. I won't give any spoilers, but many of the disparate and far flung characters are starting to converge. I am so glad I stuck with Gardens of the Moon (book 1) as that book didn't really "grab me" until its second half. Since then it has been an absolute pleasure to take Erikson's tour of Malazan and the rest of this incredible world.
I assume most of those reading this review are already fans (its book 7 for goodness sake). Rest assured that this installment continues at the pace and quality you have come to expect. I am amazed at how long Erickson can sustain his climactic portions of the book. Seems like for the last several (many) hours the pace of the story goes at absolute breakneck speed. I am really looking forward to the rest of the books being released on Audible. I am resisting the urge to go out and buy the already completed books 8, 9 and 10 (the finale) - I've decided to stick with the audio.


For New Readers:
Start with Gardens of the Moon. This series is a very gritty military fantasy with a huge cast of characters. Point of view characters include Gods and mortals and ghosts and shapeshifters and the (seemingly) insane. Less a High Middle-Ages analogue than a mix of Greek/Roman/Eastern cultures (only vaguely reminiscent of even these - but it gives you an idea). It goes to places you will not see coming - at least I didn't. Book 2 introduces a nearly complete new cast of characters. Highly recommended for those looking for challenging fantasy fiction. Erikson does not dumb down his writing - part of the reason the first half of book one was difficult for me was that Erikson writes as if his reader was already familiar with this world, its magic systems, history, politics and religions - trusting that you will learn and self-translate as you go. Erickson is also not afraid of humor - and writes his more witty characters extremely well (Quick Ben, Kruppe, Tehol Beddict - all have made me laugh out loud). He also has a keen sense for tragedy.

Each chapter is separated by a historical snippet and/or poetry - I only mention this as it may be confusing or jarring in an Audio only context. The print books feature large maps and glossary sections. I actually picked up the books at a bookstore for these features - this was probably unnecessary as there are many resources on the internet.

Especially recommended for fans of Martin, Abercrombie or Glen Cook.
Read full review

- Patrick

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-30-2014
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio