Prelude to Mayhem

  • by Edward Aubry
  • Narrated by C.S.E Cooney
  • 10 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the ruins of his world, Harrison Cody follows a mysterious voice on the radio as he and his pixie sidekick travel on foot across a terrifyingly random landscape.
They discover Dorothy O'Neill, who has had to survive among monsters when her greatest worry used to be how to navigate high school.
Together they search for what remains of Chicago, and the hope that civilization can be rebuilt.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fun and unique post-apocalyptic fiction

Prelude to Mayhem is a quirky and fantastic take on the post-apocalyptic genre. The characters are written with an endearing honesty, and their banter is what drove me to sit in my car in the garage listening to the end of chapters. The author is an absolute master of dialogue that is both entertaining and authentic. The plot is plenty interesting and provides ample compelling mysteries about what happened to the world, and how the protagonists will accomplish their goals.

I listened to the audio-book, and very much enjoyed the quality of the narration, delivered in a quiet and precise manner that matches the fine detail of the prose. And the narrator is a master of voices, giving distinct tones and accents to over a half-dozen characters. (Her voice for the pixie character Glimmer is especially spot-on.)

Two thumbs up for this book and its narration, but only because I lack a third thumb.
Read full review

- Quick Brown Fox

Fun, but not the same level as Unhappenings

The narrator was one of the worst I have ever heard. I felt like a Speak-N-Spell was reading the book to E. T. I ended up getting the book and reading it, only using the audio book on occasion. I assume it was a real person, UT she sounded like a 1980's computer voice. The story itself was very interesting. I will definitely be reading the following stories to come.
Read full review

- Logan Howlett

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-20-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio