Owls Hoot in the Daytime and Other Omens

  • by Manly Wade Wellman
  • Narrated by Brian Troxell
  • 9 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Owls Hoot in the Daytime & Other Omens is the 5th and final volume of Night Shade Books' five volume "Selected Stories of Manly Wade Wellman." This volume contains all of the John the Balladeer stories (sometimes better known as Silver John), Manly's most famous character.

Introduction by Karl Edward Wagner
O Ugly Bird!
The Desrick on Yandro
Vandy, Vandy
One Other
Call Me From the Valley
The Little Black Train
Shiver in the Pines
Walk Like A Mountain
On the Hills and Everywhere
Old Devlins Was A-Waiting
Nine Yards of Other Cloth
Wonder As I Wander
Farther Down the Trail
Trill Coster's Burden
The Spring
Owls Hoot in the Daytime
Can These Bones Live?
Nobody Ever Goes There
Where Did She Wander?
Afterword by Gerald W. Page


Audible Editor Reviews

Manly Wade Wellman has found his way into the canon of American gothic short fiction. Owls Hoot in the Daytime and Other Omens brings together some of his most intriguing and hair-raising tales of terror and danger. Known for his portrayal of the American Appalachians, Manly Wade Wellman has carved out a niche as one of the greats in science-fiction and fantasy. Brian Troxell's performance of Wellman's work is truly chilling. Troxell seems to have an innate understanding of the sense of mounting dread that characterizes Wellman's deeply unnerving work.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-05-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios