• Osiris

  • The Osiris Project, Book 1
  • By: E. J. Swift
  • Narrated by: Khristine Hvam
  • Length: 16 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 08-06-12
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Audible Studios
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars 3.6 (9 ratings)

Regular price: $29.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $29.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Editorial Reviews

Osiris, an isolated city of glass towers on an island off Alaska, may be the last city in the world; the plight of the citizens in this postapocalyptic metropolis is the focus of Osiris: The Osiris Project, Book 1. Voiceover actress Khristine Hvam brings a dark warmth to her performance of Adelaide, the wealthy and rebellious granddaughter of the architect who built Osiris, and Vikram, a poor refugee living in permanent quarantine, whose lives intertwine as the city's tensions bring it close to revolution. While it may be a descriptively beautiful listen, Osiris also carries a darkly prescient undercurrent, offering poignant symbolic commentary on contemporary struggles with climate change and immigration.
Show More Show Less

Publisher's Summary

Nobody leaves Osiris. Osiris is a lost city. She has lost the world and world has lost her....
Rising high above the frigid waters, the ocean city of Osiris has been cut off from the land since the Great Storm 50 years ago. Most believe that Osiris is the last city on Earth, while others cling to the idea that life still survives somewhere beyond the merciless seas. But for all its inhabitants, Citizens and refugees alike, Osiris is the entire world - and it is a world divided.
Adelaide is the black-sheep granddaughter of the city’s Architect. A jaded socialite and family miscreant, she wants little to do with her powerful relatives - until her troubled twin brother disappears mysteriously. Convinced that he is still alive, she will stop at nothing to find him, even if it means uncovering long-buried secrets.
Vikram, a third-generation storm refugee quarantined with thousands of others in the city’s impoverished western sector, sees his own people dying of cold and starvation while the elite of Osiris ignore their plight. Determined to change things, he hopes to use Adelaide to bring about much-needed reforms - but who is using who?As another brutal winter brings Osiris closer to riot and revolution, two very different people, each with their own agendas, will attempt to bridge the gap dividing the city, only to find a future far more complicated than either of them ever imagined.
Osiris is the beginning of an ambitious new science-fiction trilogy exploring a near-future world radically transformed by rising seas and melting poles.
©2012 E.J. Swift (P)2012 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc