Ordinary World

  • by D. J. Mitchell
  • Narrated by Scott R. Pollak
  • 11 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

As the financial system crumbles around them, a family learns how to survive the challenges of an unfamiliar new world. Bill, Gracie, and their son Joe learn new ways to live as their reality changes. Bread, gasoline, and even toilet paper all become scarce when the trucks stop rolling. When a ghost from the past threatens their lives, there are no police to call. And even greater, unexpected trials lie ahead. Faced with a new and unfamiliar economy, they find new friends and learn to cherish the community around them. From food to self defense, there is no one to rely on but their neighbors and themselves.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

great and realistic story

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?


What did you like best about this story?

Unlike many 'survivalist' books, this is a realistic look at survival in the US if our culture were to fall apart. This book is a combination of survival logistics, realistic scenarios, and good entertainment. I found it thought provoking, educational and entertaining all at the same time. There was also a very good spiritual element that would make sense to many.

What does Scott R. Pollak bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Great narration, good clarity, the right amount of emotion. Very believable.

Read full review

- Ors

Not what I was wanting at all.

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

After 16 chapters I could not go any more. Story was boring.

What was most disappointing about D. J. Mitchell’s story?

Slow, slow, slow...

How did the narrator detract from the book?

The narrator did a very good job. The story just did not hold my interest.

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

The Narrator has a great voice and is easy to listen too.

Read full review

- Adam

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-12-2014
  • Publisher: Jackrabbit Prose Inc