Opening Atlantis : Atlantis (Turtledove)

  • by Harry Turtledove
  • Narrated by Todd McLaren
  • Series: Atlantis (Turtledove)
  • 16 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Harry Turtledove has intrigued readers with such thought-provoking "what if..." scenarios as a conquered Elizabethan England in Ruled Britannia and a Japanese occupation of Hawaii in Days of Infamy and End of the Beginning. Now, in the first of a brand-new trilogy, he rewrites the history of the world with the existence of an eighth continent.Atlantis lies between Europe and the East Coast of Terranova. For many years, this land of opportunity lured dreamers from around the globe with its natural resources, offering a new beginning for those willing to brave the wonders of the unexplored land.


What the Critics Say

"Turtledove excels in alternate history." (Library Journal)
"Harry Turtledove is probably the best practitioner of the classic alternate-history story since L. Sprague de Camp." (Locus)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Interesting speculation, flat story

What did you like best about Opening Atlantis? What did you like least?

The premise about the colonization of a large landmass mid-Atlantic intrigued me and the alternate history was fascinating.

What could Harry Turtledove have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

I needed more involvement with a central character -- or a succession of them, as Steven Saylor provides in Roma. Especially in the first third, I would have been much more engaged if I had a main character to focus on with some personal concerns I could identify with. As it was, it was merely a man in his time with little thematic juice.

Have you listened to any of Todd McLaren’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

The narrator was excellent: great tone, pace, and rhythm.

Read full review

- Alan


This was a fun book. Since the book steps forward in time at least twice, I wish in the audio version there was a distinct division here, such as "Book 1, Book 2, Book 3" No big deal, but it would make it easier to follow.

The characters were vivid and narration was excellent.
Read full review

- Bruce

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-17-2007
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio