Regular price: $26.64

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $26.64

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A thousand years in the future, mankind's influence expands into the universe.
Alastair Reynolds epic vision of our journey into deep space will redefine Space Opera. Mankind is making its way out into the universe on massive generation ships.
The new novel from Alastair Reynolds is one for fans of Peter F. Hamilton and Iain M. Banks.
©2013 Alastair Reynolds (P)2013 Orion Publishing Group
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Andreas Henriksson on 07-18-14

Reynold's return to mastery

Any additional comments?

While I thought Blue Remembered Earth (the first of the Poseidon's Children series) only average, with On The Steel Breeze Reynolds returns to the levels of mastery I associate with many of his other books. Again, the scope is enormous, entailing the nature of politics, emotions, intergenerational ties, time, artificial intelligence, morality and God... And amazingly, he succeeeds in weaving these threads into a believable tightly knit whole.

I am a fan of space opera, and so it should come as no surprise I find Reynolds so marvelous. Still, I think this book and the upcoming series deserves a much broader audience.

There are some scenes in the book that should have particular interest for debates on morality and God, where the knowledge of being surveilled by powerful entities impacts (or not, depending on your interpretation) deeply moral decisions. Would love to hear them debated.

The elephants are an interesting theme throughout the book, but I don't think Reynolds has used them as fully in the narrative as their repeated mentioning might make sensical. I suspect they will make their presence more known in future installments of the series.

An earlier reviewer remarks that the books feels unfinished, perhaps as an outcome of the $1m contract Reynolds has with his publisher for the series. I am sure the book could be better (as could any book) and it might be it does not reach the full heights of some books in the Revelation Space series. Still, Reynolds manages to push all of the right buttons with me, which means I would not be able to give the book less than a full score. I cannot imagine Reynolds-fans will be disappointed.

Adjoa Andoh does a really good job giving voice to the different characters and the tense emotions that sometimes grip them. Admittedly, I have always felt Reynolds books are better in audio than on paper, perhaps partly thanks to the narrators.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By Oystein L. on 01-08-15

Horrible narrator

The narrator tries to do character voices but fails miserably. Got halfway but had to stop.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By John on 11-09-13

Poseidon's Children

Any additional comments?

It should be noted that this is the second part of 'the Poseidon's Children trilogy, following his 2012 novel Blue Remembered Earth.

Read More Hide me

23 of 23 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Stu on 02-05-14

Obvious shortage of telescopes

Is there anything you would change about this book?

Why oh why is Ocular the only telescope in the known universe that can see the Pinecones ?

Would you ever listen to anything by Alastair Reynolds again?

yes

Have you listened to any of Adjoa Andoh’s other performances? How does this one compare?

first book i've listened to with a female narrator. Helps that almost all the characters are women.. did initially have a few problems differentiating between the sexes.

If this book were a film would you go see it?

yes

Any additional comments?

almost no emphasis on the alien elements within the book, to much on squabbling humans.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Deon on 07-10-18

Absolutely stunning story and performance!

His writing just gets better and better... The story line, characters and the world constructed are all excellent. As always, it starts slow and confusing but once I got into it I just could not stop...

The reader is pure awesomeness in her ability to perform so many different accents and personalities... One of the best I have heard so far.

I'm generally very picky, but this one I highly highly recommend!

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Amanda on 01-14-15

fantastic!

Really well thought out plot, not predictable at all, kept you interested to the last word!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews