Ninth City Burning

  • by J. Patrick Black
  • Narrated by Suzanne Elise Freeman, Lincoln Hoppe, Ryan Gesell, full cast
  • 21 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Centuries of war with aliens threaten the future of human civilization on Earth in this gripping epic science fiction debut.
We never saw them coming.
Entire cities disappeared in the blink of an eye, leaving nothing but dust and rubble. When an alien race came to make Earth theirs, they brought with them a weapon we had no way to fight, a universe-altering force known as thelemity. It seemed nothing could stop it - until we discovered we could wield the power, too.
Five hundred years later, the Earth is locked in a grinding war of attrition. The talented few capable of bending thelemity to their will are trained in elite military academies, destined for the front lines. Those who refused to support the war have been exiled to the wilds of a ruined Earth.
But the enemy's tactics are changing, and Earth's defenders are about to discover this centuries-old war has only just begun. As a terrible new onslaught looms, heroes will rise from unlikely quarters and fight back.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Complex, Complete, Entertaining

Fantastic detailed characters. Imaginative unique story. Artfully narrated. Thoughtful. Emotional. Worth every damn cent. Bravo.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Awesome performances and great story

The story is very fluid and you really get a good sense of the struggles and emotions of the characters. As a huge fan of science fiction, the mixture of magic and technology really impressed me, and the detail through which it is explained really drew me in and I would listen to the same part a few times so I could really grasp the concept myself. The performances of the narrarators are really well done, none really standing out over the others, although my favorite was probably kisabelle(not sure of the spelling)
Read full review

- steven l.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-06-2016
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio