• by Yahtzee Croshaw
  • Narrated by Yahtzee Croshaw
  • 13 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In a world full to bursting with would-be heroes, Jim couldn't be less interested in saving the day. His fireballs fizzle. He's awfully grumpy. Plus, he's been dead for about 60 years. When a renegade necromancer wrenches him from eternal slumber and into a world gone terribly, bizarrely wrong, all Jim wants is to find a way to die properly, once and for all.
On his side, he's got a few shambling corpses, an inept thief, and a powerful death wish. But he's up against tough odds: angry mobs of adventurers, a body falling apart at the seams and a team of programmers racing a deadline to hammer out the last few bugs in their AI.
Mogworld is a comic fantasy novel in the tradition of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett, and is the debut novel from video-game icon Yahtzee Croshaw (Zero Punctuation).


What the Critics Say

"The first legitimate breakout hit from the gaming community in recent memory" (Boing Boing)
"Yahtzee consistently makes me laugh, and even though I dig computer and electronic games, he has cross-genre appeal to anyone who enjoys a sharp wit, unique sense of humor, and plenty of originality - not purely gaming fans" (The Future Buzz)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Yahtzee learns to enunciate

I bought this for the same reason almost every one else purchased it for, I'm a fan of Zero Punctuation. On his blog, Yahtzee wrote that it was really hard to learn to speak slowly again and if you listen to the audio sample you can tell. The narration early on is stilted, as if he's trying to compensate. Likewise, the humor in the beginning is strained and trying too hard. He tends to reuse and abuse his metaphors, and over use words such as "insanely" and "suddenly". Sadly, these and other technical problems appear throughout the book.

However, if you love Yahtzee and are prepared to be both patient and forgiving, this book will reward you in the end. And by patient I mean you need to get through at least the first 3 hours. By that time, Yahtzee's voice has warmed up and the story picks up enough to let the jokes occur more naturally. The main character is endearing and the story amusing and involving. Yahtzee does a good necromancer voice too, though my favorite voice was Slippery John. The ending was appropriately poignant.

This book is better than other first novels by game designers (it made me think of Johannes Cabal: Necromancer). Yahtzee hasn't ascended to the pantheon with Pratchett and Douglas Adams but I will pick up his other book and hope for more author narrated audio books from him in the future.
Read full review

- Alyssa "I listen to books when I'm at work or doing chores. I prefer history and fantasy. My favorite audio book is Going Postal by Terry Pratchett."

Listened to this twice in a row - lotsa fun!

The premise is great - a former magic college student killed by a rival warrior university is raised 60 years later to be the undead minion of an evil Necromancer. Turns out the Necromancer is a great boss and the new walking corpse, Jim, comes to enjoy working in the Doom Fortress...until it's destroyed, with Jim and two other minions the only ones to escape.

Thus begins their quest.

The cast of characters, to me, were un-freaking-believably entertaining. I even loved the villains.

Also, the narrator was really something. At first, I was a little disconcerted since he so unconventional compared to others on audible. But after a few chapters, I found he was perfectly suited to bring to life the various characters. Then I discovered the narrator is also the author, so of course he had things well in hand - just took some getting used to.

Highly recommended
Read full review

- Ryan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-21-2012
  • Publisher: Open Book Audio