Regular price: $17.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $17.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In a world full to bursting with would-be heroes, Jim couldn't be less interested in saving the day. His fireballs fizzle. He's awfully grumpy. Plus, he's been dead for about 60 years. When a renegade necromancer wrenches him from eternal slumber and into a world gone terribly, bizarrely wrong, all Jim wants is to find a way to die properly, once and for all.
On his side, he's got a few shambling corpses, an inept thief, and a powerful death wish. But he's up against tough odds: angry mobs of adventurers, a body falling apart at the seams and a team of programmers racing a deadline to hammer out the last few bugs in their AI.
Mogworld is a comic fantasy novel in the tradition of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett, and is the debut novel from video-game icon Yahtzee Croshaw (Zero Punctuation).
©2010 Yahtzee Croshaw (P)2012 Yahtzee Croshaw
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"The first legitimate breakout hit from the gaming community in recent memory" ( Boing Boing)
"Yahtzee consistently makes me laugh, and even though I dig computer and electronic games, he has cross-genre appeal to anyone who enjoys a sharp wit, unique sense of humor, and plenty of originality - not purely gaming fans" ( The Future Buzz)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Alyssa on 10-18-12

Yahtzee learns to enunciate

I bought this for the same reason almost every one else purchased it for, I'm a fan of Zero Punctuation. On his blog, Yahtzee wrote that it was really hard to learn to speak slowly again and if you listen to the audio sample you can tell. The narration early on is stilted, as if he's trying to compensate. Likewise, the humor in the beginning is strained and trying too hard. He tends to reuse and abuse his metaphors, and over use words such as "insanely" and "suddenly". Sadly, these and other technical problems appear throughout the book.

However, if you love Yahtzee and are prepared to be both patient and forgiving, this book will reward you in the end. And by patient I mean you need to get through at least the first 3 hours. By that time, Yahtzee's voice has warmed up and the story picks up enough to let the jokes occur more naturally. The main character is endearing and the story amusing and involving. Yahtzee does a good necromancer voice too, though my favorite voice was Slippery John. The ending was appropriately poignant.

This book is better than other first novels by game designers (it made me think of Johannes Cabal: Necromancer). Yahtzee hasn't ascended to the pantheon with Pratchett and Douglas Adams but I will pick up his other book and hope for more author narrated audio books from him in the future.

Read More Hide me

66 of 68 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Emily on 01-08-13

Better than I could have hoped for

As a fan of Zero Punctuation, I went into Mogworld thinking I knew what to expect: a parody full of whip-sharp language and colorful similes. What I didn't expect was the honestly brilliant metanarritive about how video games are made, played, and perceived, woven into an unusual but engaging adventure story. The plot was refreshingly original, the characters were distinct and memorable, and the world felt right, just familiar enough to me, as someone who's played a lot of sword and sorcery RPGs. It was definitely the right choice to have Yahtzee narrate the story, because he imbues it with so much personality. Overall, a joy to listen to. Five stars.

Read More Hide me

14 of 14 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Kieran on 11-17-12

Fantastic story and narration after first hour.

Love zero punctuation, and you may feel a little short changed if you wanted a 13 hour equivalent. You instead get a 12 hour roller coaster of amazing one liners and set pieces, after the slow scene setting starting hour.



First 20 minutes is not terribly interesting while setting the scene, Jim is not particularly likeable for first 40 ish. After that you get introduced to more characters and the dynamic of their relationships and the crazy world fits perfectly.



Odd hearing Yahtzee do the different accents and genders,, but he gets it spot on and listening to the 10 ish main characters is great fun.



Very intelligently pieced together fantasy story meets real mmo gaming experience. Had to pull my van over listening to a scene with Mr. Wonderful ( won't spoil it) or end up rear ending someone in fits of laughter.

Read More Hide me

18 of 18 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Peter on 12-01-13

Interesting enough story and plenty for the gamers

Having followed Yahtzee for a little while through his game reviews i was quite curious to see how his humor would translate through into a novel. I'm pleased to say that it does, mostly. Yahtzee himself narrates which really does help a lot as I'm not overly sure it would have worked as well had anyone else done so.

All the characters are interesting if nothing else, and the interaction between all the 'mains' is really great and the side characters that pop up are always entertaining.

I think the biggest let down was the story itself. I cant help but feel i might have enjoy the story that could have been, more then the story i got. I don't really want to spoil anything, but i could have quite happy stayed in Act 1 throughout. But alas that wasn't the story he was telling.

My Girlfriend and i are both gamers and really did enjoy the references along the way, but I'm not sure how well that would translate to a non gamer.

Read More Hide me

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Anonymous User on 08-13-18

Fantastic idea, pretty good execution

Kind of odd to hear Yahtzee, but his performance is actually quite good.

Story lagged a bit though, the twist was made obvious early on and is top notch. It just takes a long time to get going.

I'd recommend it for the novelty of it. There aren't many stories dealing with the topic/genre. I do think it could have really been explored a lot better, however.

Still, its fun, mostly light-hearted and some great characters. But it is fun, and it pokes fun in all the right ways at the RPG/fantasy stuff we have all grown up with. It's fun, not expertly done, but quite fun. That's my review.

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Anonymous User on 04-12-18

Pure Joy Flows from this Book

Yahtzee is an amazing writer and actor. I laughed the whole through and almost cried at the end, truly a masterpiece. going in for round 2 now

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews