Regular price: $29.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $29.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

World War Three wiped out the humankind. The planet is empty now. Huge cities became dust and ashes. Railroads are being eaten by rust. Abandoned satellites hang lonely in their orbits. Radio is mute on all frequencies. The only survivors of the last war were those who made it into the gates of the Metro, the subway system of Moscow city.
It's there, hundreds of feet below the ground, in the vaults of what was constructed as the world's largest air-raid shelter, where now people try to outlive the end of days. It's there that they created a new world for themselves. The stations of the Metro became city-states, and its citizens, torn apart by religions and ideologies, are fighting for now-scarce commodities: air, water, and space.
This tiny underground world can only remind humans of an immense world they once were the masters of. It's been 20 years since Doomsday, and yet the survivors refuse to give up. The most stubborn of them keep cherishing a dream: when the radiation level from nuclear bombings subsides, they will be able to return to the surface and have the life their parents once had. But the most stubborn of the stubborn continues to search for other survivors in this huge emptiness that once was called Earth. His name is Artyom. He would give anything to lead his own people from the underground onto the surface.
And he will.
©2015 Dmitry Glukhovsky; English translation 2016 Andrew Bromfield (P)2017 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Adam S. on 04-02-17

Really great stories.

The second of this trilogy wasn't that great, but the third was well worth it. I got into these books after playing the video games and the books are even better than the game was..

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

By Taylor on 10-10-17

Glukhovsky has evolved with his trilogy.

As the second feels different from the first, the third is different from the previous two. Glukhovsky evolved his style with his trilogy, and here, in the final installment, that style matches the story, becuase Artyom has aged with his experiences. Most of the main cast, those surviving at least, from the previous books stop by to say "farewell". At times I did wonder if this story had all been intended from the initial book, or if it was a case of the author changing his intent to continue the plot. Either way, the story fits. A reader, having to rely soley of the knowledge a character can give him, feels the discoveries of Artyom in the very heart of oneself. It is a lovely, dark and fantastic tale.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By ollie griffiths on 02-22-17

Another fantastic instalment

A brilliant listen. I hope they make a third metro game this year. Fingers crossed.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

By Edmund O Callaghan on 11-26-17

absolutely amazing story, its my new favourite

I've read the book and that was completely out of this world, if you like post apocalyptic and all things Russian then you'll love this story, it emersed me into 2 weeks of continuous reading, after that I decided why not get the audio book, and the audio book is nearly just as good as reading it, its a great way to relive the story without the Hassel of reading.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc