Regular price: $25.17

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $25.17

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Dying is easy. Coming back to life is hard. At least that's what Miles Vorkosigan thinks, and he should know - having done both once already. Thanks to his quick-thinking staff and incredible artistry from a medical specialist, Miles' first death wasn't his last. But it does take some recovery, a fact he has been reluctant to admit. When he makes the mistake of returning too soon to military duty, he finds himself summoned home to face the Barrayaran security chief, Simon Illyan.
But Miles' worst nightmares about Simon Illyan are nothing compared to Illyan's own nightmares. Under suspicion himself, Miles must seek out the answers to Ilyan's nightmares or see the inevitable destruction of Imperial Security and, with it, the Empire.
©1996 Lois McMaster Bujold (P)2007 Blackstone Audio Inc.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Science fiction at its very best!" (Rave Reviews) "As ever with Bujold, Memory is a delight!" (Locus) "Bujold fans of long standing will justly hail [this] as a masterpiece that contains some of her finest prose and characterization. Bujold continues to prove what marvelous genius can create out of basic space operatics." (Booklist)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By L. Lipp on 04-15-08

Order of series

I hope someday Audible publishes the whole series (or at least numbers them), in the

meanwhile, here is something that might be useful.

The Vorkosigan Saga, in series order:

- Dreamweaver's Dilemma
- Falling Free
- Shards of Honor
- The Warrior's Apprentice
- The Mountains of Mourning (included in Borders of Infinity)
- The Vor Game
- Cetaganda
- Ethan of Athos
- Labyrinth (included in Borders of Infinity)
- The Borders of Infinity
- Brothers in Arms
- Mirror Dance (1994)
- Memory (1996)
- Komarr (1998)
- A Civil Campaign
- Winterfair Gifts
- Diplomatic Immunity

In truth you can skip around, but it's more fun if you kindof read these in order.

Read More Hide me

40 of 42 people found this review helpful

By I. Aleksandrov on 02-05-09

Possibly my favorite Miles story

I love the whole Vorkosigan saga and cant say I dont like any one of the books. But we all have favorites and this one is mine. Yes, its not so action packed as most of the others, but it strikes a meditative, gloomy and very deep note inside me. It is a more adult book than the other to me, although all of the Miles books have concealed (well weaved) ideas which do not come across to everyone.

Have fun with it, and try to feel the emotions, not only the plot! )

Read More Hide me

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Jane on 06-20-07


One of the very best Miles Vorkosigan novels. Miles makes a bad decision and loses nearly everything, but finds that life carries on regardless and is soon back on form. The comedy, plotting and characterisation all work brilliantly. If you haven't read a Vorkosigan novel before don't start here (try Warrior's Apprentice). If you have already read the sequence thus far then you don't really need me going on about how brilliant it is. Just believe me: this is a notch better.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

By AMG, London on 11-01-16

One of the greatest novels ever written

I love everything Lois McMaster Bujold writes, but after many years of re-reading and audio rehearing, I do think Memory is the best thing she's ever written. A perfect pearl of a novel, in its balance of pain and pleasure, humour and sadness, adventure and character/relationship development. Such a pleasure every time. And I still cry at some parts every time.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc