March to the Stars : Prince Roger

  • by David Weber, John Ringo
  • Narrated by Stefan Rudnicki
  • Series: Prince Roger
  • 17 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Ever since an attempt on his life marooned him with his bodyguards on the hostile planet Marduk, with its unending series of threats, obstacles, and adventures, Prince Roger McClintock has evolved from a spoiled, petulant heir into a true leader of humans and aliens alike.This third edition to the Prince Roger Series takes the Bronze Barbarians across the Eastern Ocean of Marduk, facing giant sea monsters, pirates, and the barbarian nations that dwell on the other side. Their destination is a spaceport held by humans of questionable loyalties. As Roger comes nearer to making his way home, he learns that his attempted assassination was part of a larger plot. Not all is as it seems on Earth or on Marduk. Fortunately, he's got the Bronze Barbarians and the Basik's Own at his back.


What the Critics Say

"The dynamic duo of Weber and Ringo continue Prince Roger McClintock's adventures, which are coming to constitute a military SF classic." (Booklist)
"Parallels with Prince Hal in Henry IV are probably intentional, adding a certain gravitas to the many exceptionally well-done battle scenes....readers can look forward to seeing how the authors will retell Henry V. It should be one hell of a St. Crispin's Day." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

FINALLY, The Whole Series

This book completes the entire "Prince Roger series" here at Audible. I requested this book about 3 weeks ago, and Audible picked it right up.. Audible listens to it's customer's recommendations (Unlike some other audio book sites)

"March to the Stars" is actually book 3 of the complete series, but it was the last one that Audible needed to complete the series here.

Ok, Ok, Ok, about the book itself... some have said "You can only fight so many barbarian hordes and have so much frustrated love", and I agree with that, however, Ringo and Weber pull it off so it doesn't seem like a constant repetition of the same stuff book after book, and book 3 really sets the stage for the final book (We Few).

I talked to John Ringo at this year's Dragon*Con and he told me they were trying to get away from the "March to the Everything" titles, which is why the last book is named "We Few" (Ringo has put out SIX books so far in 2006.. and for us Ringo Fans, I asked him to "Write Faster" ;).

I actually read the reviewer's copy some time back, and then snagged the Audio Book here when it came in, and listened to it... it's good enough to "read" twice.

Some parts can be a bit confusing if you aren't paying attention, especially when many different "Tribes" get involved, but it's Military Sci-fi and "Out of the box thinking" at it's best (Which is what we expect from both Ringo AND Weber)... the fact that the authors can keep all this complicated storyline untangled and understandable speaks to their writing ability.

WELL worth the credit!
Read full review

- L.

Just as great as the other books!

Wow! What a great find! Don’t you just love it when you try the first book in a series and you turn out to LOVE IT? Well that is exactly what happened here with me. I could not wait to download the next book, and they are all nice a long (so you get a lot of ‘bang for your buck.’) All of these prince Roger books are the kind of ‘long’ that goes by fast. There is plenty of satisfying action and the character development if great too. You really get to love each character and see what happens to them. I highly recommend each and every book in this series…If you like the first book your will like them all.
Read full review

- Nathan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-08-2006
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.