Magic at the Gate : Allie Beckstrom

  • by Devon Monk
  • Narrated by Emily Durante
  • Series: Allie Beckstrom
  • 10 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Allie Beckstrom's lover, Zayvion Jones, is a Guardian of the Gate, imbued with both light and dark magic and responsible for ensuring that those energies don't mix. But Zayvion lies in a coma, his soul trapped in death's realm. And when Allie discovers that the only way to save Zayvion is to sacrifice her very own magical essence, she makes a decision that may have grave consequences for the entire world.


What the Critics Say

"Allie's adventures are gripping and engrossing, with an even, clever mix of humor, love, and brutality." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Allie's absolutely frustrating hair pulling wanted to make me walk into oncoming.traffic growing annoying obsession with Xavien has become almost too much. This series was to die for. I've been obsessed literally buying one after another not being able to listen to anything else. Even putting up with Miss Mary Mack ..... omg .... But this ... Goodness, a woman that survived on the streets in a mostly make dominated profession and more than held her own, stood up to, and continues to stand up to the tyrant that is her father ... Now dead, super daddy issues and all, etc etc, but yet lets herself be reduced to a pile of mush for some lip action since the rest ... readers know ... isn't all great with her past issues .... really?!?! What woman does that and continues to struggle on? That's such a conflicting personality type or types. Why! !!! I might just cry. I'm praying the next novel kills Xavien off and sets her free or he cheats on her with a redhead!
Read full review

- Nikki Chenard

Beckstrom still a knot head !!!

Intriguing story.
Allie's stubborn streak still continues.
Thank the literary gods that some of the supporting characters are making up for the heroine's aggravating characteristic.
Read full review

- Kevin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-15-2011
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio