Machine World : Undying Mercenaries

  • by B. V. Larson
  • Narrated by Mark Boyett
  • Series: Undying Mercenaries
  • 13 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Galactics arrived with their battle fleet in 2052. Rather than being exterminated under a barrage of hell burners, Earth joined a vast empire that spanned the Milky Way. Our only worthwhile trade goods are our infamous mercenary legions, elite troops we sell to the highest alien bidder.
In the fourth book of the series, James McGill is up for promotion. Not everyone is happy about that, and McGill must prove he's worth his stripes. Deployed to a strange, alien planet outside the boundaries of the Galactic Empire, he's caught up in warfare and political intrigue. Earth expands, the Cephalopod Kingdom launches ships to stop us, and a grand conspiracy emerges among the upper ranks of the Hegemony military.
In Machine World McGill faces an entirely new kind of alien life, Galactic prosecution, and thousands of relentless squid troopers. He lives and dies in the falling ashes of the empire, a man of unique honor at the dawn of humanity's resurgence.
Machine World is a military science fiction novel by best-selling author B. V. Larson. (To find the first book in the series, search for Steel World by B. V. Larson.)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

McGill's Way

At the end of the previous book in this series “Tech world,” we learned that the Cephalopods, or “Squids,” are on the move and the once seemingly all powerful Galactics are nervous. James McGill has been nominated for a promotion, and Imperator Turov has to go on with life looking twenty years younger.
Now, in “Machine World,” the latest book in the continuing saga of the “Undying Mercenaries,” McGill starts off the way he always does by taking matters into his own hand at the risk of the entire human species and the chagrin of his commanding officers; but if you’ve been keeping up on the series know that his moves often save the day.
If you liked the previous three books than you should like this one; if you haven’t read any of the series don’t start here, you should read them in order.
A word about the narrator; since these books are written in first person Mark Boyett is James McGill taking on his persona and bringing the story to life. I don’t know If I would give the story five stars without his influence, he really does a great job.
Read full review

- D

More of the same...

I had hoped for some development, but its always "same old McGill" in this one. I feel half the lines from other characters about McGill have been heard in previous books. He goes nowhere, and he learns nothing. Nome of the other do either. Its a good time killer, but made me not want to buy the next one..
Read full review

- Carl-Magnus

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-12-2015
  • Publisher: Audible Studios