Lucian: Dark God's Homecoming

  • by Van Allen Plexico
  • Narrated by Richard Coombs
  • 9 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A stand-alone adventure that is also Volume One of The Above series !
The Power has returned. And now, I, the exiled dark lord Lucian, race across the infinite planes of creation, a charge of mass murder upon my head, vicious foes dogging my every step. My goals are simple: Justice for myself, vengeance upon my enemies, and conquest of the universe, if I get half a chance.
But events are conspiring to bring me together with some very unexpected allies, and to thrust me into the most unlikely role of all... Hero?!

After a failed coup attempt, the dark lord Lucian was exiled from the Golden City of the gods and has dwelt for centuries among the worlds of man. During that time, he carved out a star empire of his own. Now the Power has returned - the Power that fuels the immortality and astounding abilities of the gods - and Lucian has resolved to cast aside his ties to humanity, end his exile, and make his way back to his beloved celestial city. But what he finds when he arrives there is not what he expected: Mysterious beings all in black roam the cosmic pathways, most of the gods have somehow vanished, and those who remain look upon him with unadulterated suspicion and hate. His mission is this: he must clear his own name and find the true culprit, even as his brother and sister gods do everything in their power to capture and destroy him.
No one ever said it was easy to be the god of evil...
Lucian: Dark God's Homecoming combines exciting SF/Fantasy adventure with a puzzling murder mystery whodunit in the grand tradition of Roger Zelazny's Amber series and Jack Vance's Dying Earth.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fantastic work!

Was given this as a gift and i was spellbound by each minute. The characters were so well developed within the story that I could never determine who was friend and who was foe. Will definitely be purchasing the hard copy for my personal library and I can't wait to read more from the author.
Read full review

- Joseph

Good Pulpy Fun

Any additional comments?

Fans of Roger Zelazny's CHRONICLES OF AMBER and LORD OF LIGHT should find Van Allen Plexico's LUCIAN: DARK GOD'S HOMECOMING a great deal of fun. Lucian is a "god of evil" in a fictional pantheon of deities in the far future, accused of a crime he didn't commit. Along the way to solving the mystery Lucian encounters a trio of humans and a colorful variety of gods. Plexico carefully renders a compelling universe, perhaps falling short only with the human Evelyn, Lucian's love interest who falls a bit flat. The story moves along at a nice pace and reaches a satisfyingly gradiose climax. Richard Coombs is an adequate if not top-tier narrator. All in all, if you like space fantasy and rakish protagonists, you'll enjoy this book. It's not a dictionary-sized tome like much of fantasy these days (and all the better for it, if you ask me), instead harkening back to the slimmer sf/f books of decades past. But there are more titles in the series for those wishing to immerse themselves in the universe.

Read full review

- Shoryland

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-25-2017
  • Publisher: White Rocket Entertainment