Last Orders : War That Came Early

  • by Harry Turtledove
  • Narrated by Todd McLaren
  • Series: War That Came Early
  • 16 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In an extraordinary saga of nations locked in war, master storyteller Harry Turtledove tells the story of World War II, which begins over Czechoslovakia rather than Poland, eleven months earlier than it really came. Now comes the final installment in Turtledove's landmark World War II series.
Hitler's Plan A was to win in a hurry, striking hard and deep into France. There was no Plan B. Now the war grinds on, and countries have been forced into strange alliances. For the United States, the only enemy is Japan. Then Hitler becomes desperate and declares war on the United States. But is it too late? His own people are rising up in revolt. The German military may have to put down the violence - even perhaps bomb its own cities.
In this epic drama, real men and women are shaped by the carnage, and their individual acts in turn shape history. Drawing on the gritty, personal reality of war and on a cast of unforgettable characters, Turtledove has written an alternate history that intrigues, fascinates, and astounds.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I enjoyed all six books

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Interesting and captivating plot, especially for those who knows the history of WW II- so they can catch and understand all the nuances which took place differently in the story apart from real history. The narrator, in reality both of them, were very good- they did excellent job in narrating different persons with different accents, so you had a feeling that you are really immersed in the plot. I found also very good that throughout the books person were using some of the expressions from their own languages (German soldiers bits of German words and so on). Last but not least I also learn a lot about the weapons and armaments the nations used during the war.

Read full review

- Milan

awesome series

had me hooked from book 1 - 6 great story line left me wishing for more
Read full review

- keith

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-15-2014
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio