Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge

  • by Paul Krueger
  • Narrated by Emily Woo Zeller
  • 8 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Bailey Chen is fresh out of college, with all the usual new-adult demons: no cash, no job offers, and an awkward relationship with Zane, the old friend she kinda-sorta hooked up with during high school.
But when Zane introduces Bailey to his monster-fighting bartender friends, her demons become a lot more literal. It turns out evil creatures stalk the city streets after hours, and they can be hunted only with the help of magically mixed cocktails: Vodka grants super strength, whiskey offers the power of telekinesis, and tequila lets its drinker fire blasts of elemental energy. But will all of these powers be enough for Bailey to halt a mysterious rash of gruesome deaths? And what will she do when the safety of a real-world job beckons?
This sharp and funny urban fantasy is perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, and grown-up listeners of Harry Potter. Includes 15 recipes from a book of ancient cocktail lore.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Lots of fun

The story is quirky and original while also relatable for the fresh-out-of-college "new adult" (is that what we're calling this genre now?). The narration is lively and enjoyable to listen to. The idea that a Long Island Ice Tea is the most legendary/elusive of the magical beverages is fantastic.
Read full review

- Nicole

Not bad, but not great

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

The story itself was not too bad, if Krueger put out a sequel, or even a book outside this realm, I would probably give it a try. The concept is definitely there. He has the talent. So, yes, I would urge someone to give it a try. Just because I wasn't head over heels about it, doesn't mean someone might not love it.


Would you be willing to try another one of Emily Woo Zeller’s performances?

I doubt it. It took me 6-7 chapters to not notice her voice and the way she speaks. It was very distracting. I actually considered asking for a refund and picking a different book. Once I was halfway through the book I was more into the story and didn't notice her voice as much.


Was Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge worth the listening time?

The story is solid. I think people will like it. It's fun, but I just wish there'd been a different narrator.


Read full review

- Sarah Jones "I love books in any form! Whether it's a physical, audio, or e-book, I don't discriminate! They're all "real" books to me!"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-07-2016
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.