Lamentation : Psalms of Isaak

  • by Ken Scholes
  • Narrated by Stefan Rudnicki, Scott Brick, William Dufris, Maggi-Meg Reed
  • Series: Psalms of Isaak
  • 14 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

An ancient weapon has completely destroyed the city of Windwir. From many miles away, Rudolfo, Lord of the Nine Forest Houses, sees the horrifying column of smoke rising. He knows that war is coming to the Named Lands.Nearer to the Devastation, a young apprentice is the only survivor of the city - he sat waiting for his father outside the walls, and was transformed as he watched everyone he knew die in an instant.Soon all the Kingdoms of the Named Lands will be at each others' throats, as alliances are challenged and hidden plots are uncovered.This remarkable first novel from an award-winning short-fiction writer will take readers away to a new world - an Earth so far in the distant future that our time is not even a memory; a world where magick is commonplace, and great areas of the planet are impassable wastes. But human nature hasn't changed through the ages: War and faith and love still move princes and nations.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Highly Enjoyable

Plot is well developed with excellent pace and characters are penned with a sapient hand. Rather than thin, transparent characters, Ken Scholes writes with insight.

I prefer stories/authors who are able to maintain an interesting tale, something Ken has a strong sense for. When an author is able to meld interesting and character depth it is a satisfying and enjoyable balance!
Read full review

- Meg

Contemporary take on fantasy

Interesting mix of traditional sci-fi and fantasy elements set in post-apocalyptic environs. Characters are vibrant and have definite point-of-view.
Read full review

- Kory

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-17-2009
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio