Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters

  • by Larry Correia, Peter Clines, Peter Rawlik, James Swallow, C. L. Werner, James Maxey
  • Narrated by Jennifer Van Dyck, Jeff Woodman, Bronson Pinchot, Marc Vietor, Simon Vance, Ray Porter, Nicola Barber
  • 18 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters is a collection of 23 stories focused around the theme of strange creatures in the vein of Pacific Rim, Godzilla, Cloverfield, and more. The anthology opens with a foreword by Jeremy Robinson, author of Project Nemesis, the highest-selling Kaiju novel in the United States since the old Godzilla books - and perhaps even more than those.
Then, from New York Times best sellers to indie darlings Kaiju Rising: Age of Monsters features authors that are perfectly suited for writing larger-than-life stories, including: Peter Clines, Larry Correia, James Lovegrove, Gini Koch (as J. C. Koch), James Maxey, Jonathan Wood, C. L. Werner, Joshua Reynolds, David Annandale, Jaym Gates, Peter Rawlik, Shane Berryhill, Natania Barron, Paul Genesse & Patrick Tracy, Nathan Black, Mike MacLean, Timothy W. Long, Bonnie Jo Stufflebeam, Kane Gilmour, Peter Stenson, Erin Hoffman, Sean Sherman, Howard Andrew Jones (The Chronicles of Sword and Sand tie-in), Edward M. Erdelac (Dead West tie-in), and James Swallow (Colossal Kaiju Combat tie-in).
The narrators include: Bronson Pinchot, Simon Vance, James Adams, Jay Snyder, Brian Nishii, Nicola Barber, Victor Bevine, Peter Ganim, Jonathan Davis, Marc Vietor, Jennifer Van Dyck, Gabra Zackman, Scott Aiello, Mark Boyett, Allison Hiroto, Katy Kellgren, Christian Rummel, Therese Plummer, Ray Porter, Sean Runnette, Jeff Woodman, Dina Pearlman, Suzy Jackson, Brian Nishii, RC Bray, and Susan Duerden.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

1,000 FINGERNAILS ON 1,000 CHALKBOARDS

MEAT SACKS
The Summary says 23 stories, but there is really 25 plus an intro. Which means 26 different writers. Of the 26 I only recognized three authors Peter Clines, Larry Correia and Jeremy Robinson who did the intro. I like to think of myself as pretty knowledgeable in the Science Fiction Field, so was surprised at the number of unknowns. Lots of areas where covered. There was a Zombie Kaiju, steampunk, different times in history and in the future and different parts of the world. There were two stories from the perspective of the Monsters.

YOU'D HAVE BETTER LUCK TRYING TO SINK AFRICA
Overall this is one of the worst anthologies I have listened to. The number of bad or boring stories were way over the top. Over half were a waste of time.

DON'T JUDGE A HORSE BY THE SADDLE HE WEARS
Having said how bad the majority of stories are, there still were some good ones. James Lovegrove and Peter Stenson had the best stories. Day of the Demi Gods by Peter Stenson is funny and is about a Kaiju with self-esteem problems trying to make it big in Hollywood. I also liked Edward M. Erdelac, Sean Sherman, Peter Clines, James Maxey, and Larry Correia's stories. One great reason to read anthologies is to get introduced to new talent. Sherman's story Shaktarra was a great reminder of the stories of the past and could have been written 50 years ago. James Maxey's story, Fall of Babylon, is the one story that has bother most of the other reviewers. It is an interesting look at Revelations from the bible, but is anti-bible and can be disturbing to those who are sensitive in that area. I am preparing to go to church as I write this, but am able to question the bible and some set beliefs without the fear of losing my faith or being upset. I thought it was clever and brought out some subjects to be discussed. There are people at my church who do not appreciate my views.

THE JAPANESE ALIEN ALLIES
The narrators read like a who's who of narrators. With the exception of the last narrator for the last story, these guys really bring quality to this recording. I did not remember Dick Hill doing a story, but other then that there were some of my favorites here. Not sure how the last narrator got invited, she had the most irritating sing song narration I have ever heard.
Read full review

- Jim "The Impatient"

some were great ... most were shit

About 3 of the 25 had me wishing there was a full book or series I could keep reading .... most were average too shit
Read full review

- Justin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-15-2014
  • Publisher: Audible Studios