Justice Calling : The Twenty-Sided Sorceress

  • by Annie Bellet
  • Narrated by Folly Blaine
  • Series: The Twenty-Sided Sorceress
  • 2 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Gamer. Nerd. Sorceress.
Jade Crow lives a quiet life running her comic book and game store in Wylde, Idaho. After twenty-five years fleeing from a powerful sorcerer who wants to eat her heart and take her powers, quiet suits her just fine. Surrounded by friends who are even less human than she is, Jade figures she's finally safe.
As long as she doesn't use her magic.
When dark powers threaten her friends' lives, a sexy shape-shifter enforcer shows up. He's the shifter world's judge, jury, and executioner rolled into one, and he thinks Jade is to blame. To clear her name, save her friends, and stop the villain, she'll have to use her wits... and her sorceress powers.
Except Jade knows that as soon as she does, a far deadlier nemesis awaits.
Justice Calling is the first book in The Twenty-Sided Sorceress urban fantasy series. Readers who enjoyed The Dresden Files or The Iron Druid Chronicles will likely enjoy this series.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Short and enjoyable

This a short and enjoyable ride. I went in expecting a mediocre diversion and ended up with a couple of yours of great entertainment. it's not Kate Daniels but if you are jonesing for a decent female lead and solid world building this story is perfect.
Read full review

- Kindle Customer

Fantasy by a Gamer, For Gamers

Justice Calling is the first volume of the Twenty-Sided Sorceress, an urban (or rural?) fantasy series following Jade Crow, a sorceress with some dark secrets hiding out in a small town running a gaming shop. While the story itself is typical of what we're used to in Urban Fantasy, Bellet does a solid job of creating a protagonist that listeners will be happy to listen and relate with. There's excitement, sexy mysterious strangers, friendship, and geeky humor. It was perhaps a bit easy conflict-wise, and I expected the gaming component to be more necessary, but it was such a brief adventure it didn't detract too much from my listening experience.

Folly Blaine's smooth, casual voice nails the characters and atmosphere of the story. It's like an open invitation, just begging you to sit and listen, and I was happy to comply.

I enjoyed this bite-sized story, and thanks to the agreeable protagonist and Blaine's narration, I'll be coming back around for another adventure soon.
Read full review

- Dave

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-23-2014
  • Publisher: Doomed Muse Press