Just Another Judgement Day : Nightside

  • by Simon R. Green
  • Narrated by Marc Vietor
  • Series: Nightside
  • 8 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

There's a new sheriff in town, and he's got the Nightside's rich and powerful quaking in their boots. He's The Walking Man, and it's his mission to exorcise sinners - with extreme prejudice.Problem is, the Nightside was built on sin and corruption, and The Walking Man makes no distinction between evildoers and those simply indulging themselves. He'll leave the place a wasteland unless someone stops him, and P.I. John Taylor has been handed the job. No known magic or science can affect The Walking Man, and if John can't discover his weakness, he'll be facing the very Wrath of God.


What the Critics Say

"A macabre and thoroughly entertaining world." (Jim Butcher, New York Times best-selling author of The Dresden Files)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

It's alright.

If you are reading this review, you likely already know if you are getting this or not. You are either totally plugged into the Nightside or you burned out a while back.

So, for those of you who will be continuing on, let me tell you. . .it's not as good as some, not as bad as others. Green has improved as a writer since we started our journey, but he still lacks as a storyteller sometimes.

There isn't really a villain in this book. Ok, our heroes aren't all that nice *in the Nightside*, but there are those people who take evil to that next level *in the Nightside*. (Sorry, I wanted to know what that felt like, *in the Nightside*.)

Anyway, John goes after what is really a force of nature style antagonist. John catches up to him, they talk, the antagonist kills a bunch of people (and things) and then moves on. Then, John catches up to him, they talk, the antagonist kills a bunch of people (and things) and then moves on. Then, John catches up to him, they talk, the antagonist kills a bunch of people (and things) and then moves on. . .

. . . and then a solution happened that caused my suspension of disbelieve to totally fall apart and I began to ask if Green was aware of what his main character gets up to in the books.

That's the story. It's worth a listen if you're still into touring the Nightside. Green makes the setting just as wonderful as ever, but he has found a new form of repetition that his editor needs to beat out of him.

As for the Narration, Vietor is always amazing.
Read full review

- Lauffeuer

Green Man Review's Review

It has been said by some reviewers that the novels in the Nightside series can be broken down into sections. The first three in the series are considered stand alone novels, linked by the mystery of who John Taylor's mother is and why his father drank himself to death over her true identity. The next three are definitely linked into one narrative as they deal with Taylor's search for her and the consequences of finding out who (and what) she is. The books after that are said to return to the stand-alone plot of the first three. Well, this is sort of true, but not really. A full appreciation of the Nightside series requires that you either read or listen to them from the very beginning with Something from the Nightside to the ninth one so far, Just Another Judgment Day. Fortunately Audible has all nine available, with the talented Marc Vietor narrating the whole series! I can't think of a better way to experience these novels!

Cat Eldridge / Green Man Review
Read full review

- Kindle Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-09-2009
  • Publisher: Audible Studios