Infinity's Shore : Uplift Trilogy

  • by David Brin
  • Narrated by George Wilson
  • Series: Uplift Trilogy
  • 26 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A futuristic novel of epic proportions from Hugo and Nebula award-winning author David Brin, Infinity's Shore is the second book in the new Uplift Trilogy.
On the planet Jijo, peace is upended when the starship Streaker arrives, bringing with it knowledge of a two-billion-year-old fleet and hordes of followers eager to exploit its power. Publishers Weekly hails Brin's "extraordinary capacity to handle a wide-ranging narrative and to create ... complex alien races."


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


This is a really great series, & unlike some other series, I think each successive installment gets better. My only gripe is the snails' pace at which they've been released. Heaven's Reach is the last one to go. Dear Audible, please start blowing up some publishers' answering machines and inboxes for more Brin novels because I, for one, WILL buy them.
Read full review

- evolkram

First Rate

This is the second installment of the "Brightness Reef" trilogy, and is set in Brin's "Uplift Universe." It is a continuation of Brightness Reef, which should be read first. The conclusion, "Heavens's Gate," is not available in audio as of this posting.

The other novels in the Uplift Universe are Sundiver, Startide Rising, and The Uplift War, all available from Audible. It is not strictly neccessary to read them first, though I highly recommend the last two for the added background and events. They are both excellent in their own right.

In a nutshell this trilogy is hard SF, offering a thought-provoking story of science, technology, and sociology. It examines the plight of five races who, seeking to withdraw from the rigors of galactic civilization, illegally settle an abandoned world to find peace, only to have galactic events intrude.

The trilogy is excellent, and IMO the first two books are among the best hard SF has to offer. The plot is interesting, with many unexpected twists. The pace is fast, the writing strong, and the characters well-drawn. It is a true page-turner.

I would echo the other reviewer in pleading for the timely release of the final installment of this trilogy, Heaven's Gate.
Read full review

- Tim

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-21-2009
  • Publisher: Recorded Books