Hidden Warrior : Tamir Triad

  • by Lynn Flewelling
  • Narrated by Victor Bevine, Lynn Flewelling
  • Series: Tamir Triad
  • 17 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Long ago, during the dark days of the Great War with Pleinmar, King Thelatimos journeyed to the Oracle of the God Illior at Afra to save his warn-torn kingdom. Here he was presented with a prophecy 'So long as a daughter of Thelatimos' line defends and rules, Skala shall never be subjugated.' And that is how the line of queens ruling over Skala was established...However, as generations went by, the male heirs to the throne became intensely resentful of the prophecy that emasculated their claim to power. Finally Queen Agnalain took the throne and the people of Skala suffered under her erratic and selfish command. Prompted by the people's outcry over this mad queen, her son Prince Erius claimed primogeniture, and seized the throne. Erius's ascent may have pleased the people of Skala, but a faction of the population, one who had not forgotten the prophecy, were worried. Plague, drought and famine spread throughout the kingdom weakening it's defenses and offering easy pickings to Skala's old enemy and neighbor, Plenimar. As people start to recall the Oracle's prophecy, Erius begins to quietly kill of his female relatives who pose the only threat to his monarchy. and Iya has sinister plans for the babes...As the only living child of Erius's dead sister, Prince Tobin is second in line to the Throne of Skala, but he is not what he seems. To protect him from the paranoid assassinations ordered by his uncle, the wizard Iya gave Tobin the appearance of his murdered twin brother at birth. But now, with the onset of puberty, Tobin has discovered his true identity - SHE the rightful heir to the throne.BONUS AUDIO: Includes an exclusive introduction written and recorded by author Lynn Flewelling.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Knock off 5 hours and it's even better

The book is 17+ hours. In the middle there are 4+ hours of Tobin growing up with the Companions. I prefer there to be some plot/point involved if I have to go through listening to it for hours. There is not. I suppose it's to give us a better idea of Tobin's life, but I don't know why we care since that's not really his life anyway, is it.

If one could skim, this book would be so much better since we wouldn't get as bogged down in the minutia. Because the storyline itself is compelling and quite interesting - you'll want to know what happens with everyone and find out if Nerrin gets what's coming to him, etc...

I just don't know if you want to know about (for example) Arkoniel's sex life along the way.

Anyway, the story is interesting enough that I'll read the next book to find out how it all wraps up and cross my fingers that Flewelling can tell the story without adding in the details of every character's life in the process.

Oh, and I agree that the characters should have been a little bit older if they're going to be drinking themselves into a stupor, frequenting brothels or going out onto a killing field (sorry, a 14 year old is not "man grown" and would have his ass handed to him by some 200 pound fighter).
Read full review

- crazybatcow "I like Jack Reacher style characters regardless of setting. Put them in outer space, in modern America, in a military setting, on an alien planet... no worries. Book has non moralistic vigilante-justice? Sign me up! (oh, I read urban fantasy, soft and hard sci-fi, trashy vampire and zombie novels too)"

Excellent Book!!!

This is one of my favorite books (and audiobooks)! I'd gotten rather jaded with too much formulaic fantasy, and found this book (and the rest of the trilogy) very enjoyable! Not what I expected, and the author's description of the story as "gothic fantasy" is very appropriate! The narrator does a terrific job with it as well! You won't be disappointed with this one, but I'll warn you, you'll end up having to get the Bone Doll's Twin and Oracle's Queen, so you might as well just buy them all and listen to them in order!
Read full review

- Kuhal Krakatoa "K-"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-27-2009
  • Publisher: Audible Studios