Hidden Truth : Truth

  • by Dawn Cook
  • Narrated by Marguerite Gavin
  • Series: Truth
  • 13 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Alissa never believed in magic. But then she went to the Hold, a legendary fortress where human Keepers once learned magic from enigmatic Masters. Under the tutelage of the last surviving Master, Alissa discovered that she had inherited her father’s magical ability.
But the Hold is ruled by Bailic, the renegade Keeper who seized the First Truth, a book of magic he will use to harness the might of the city of the dead and wreak a war of total devastation. The book has thwarted Bailic’s every attempt to access it, while it continually calls to Alissa—who must summon all her will to resist it. For if she gives in to the First Truth’s ultimate power and knowledge, she will be utterly changed—and the man she loves could be lost to her forever.
This is the second book in the Truth Series by Dawn Cook, who also writes under the pen name Kim Harrison.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not as good...

I had enjoyed the first book in this series, but I found that this second book was harder to get through, and a lot less believable. The main character, Alissa, ruins the story with her childish, immature behavior. She refuses to listen to anyone else, and then seems shocked when her bad behavior results in making bad situations worse. I've seen toddlers behave with more self control that this character has. I found her to be very unlikable in this book. Some of the scenes in this book were not very believable either. Without spoiling the story, I would have to say that one character's lack of response to a life and death issue simply because he didn't want to mess up his room is a shockingly amature twist in a storyline. Even Marguerite's fantastic narration couldn't save this story. Needless to say, I won't be buying anymore of the books in this series.
Read full review

- Gwendolyn

Wow, seriously, Rakus? Absolutely marvelous

In this sequel everything begins just as the first book ended. Alissa had found the book called the First Truth. The book pulls at her and Alissa find it almost unbearable to not give in and just take the book. She knows that would cause her untimely death by Bailic. Bailic is too smart to let anyone get that close to the book. Alissa realizes that magic really did exist. She discovered that she possessed the power of magic. Her father also had magic and she inherited his gift. Once Alissa gets her hand on the First Truth she is overpowered by sheer magic and something happens that has never ever happened to her before, she shifts. Her body transforms to a Rakus, master of the Hold. Alissas feral beast inside wants to fly and be free. If she can't be kept grounded, Alissa could be lost forever. Kim Harrison did a magnificent job creating this series of books. Its a brilliant story with such a vivid imagination from the author. Its a beautiful work of art. This is a must listen to. You will enjoy this sequel of books. You must purchase the Truth series. If you do you have to get them in order starting with book 1,The First Truth,2nd book is Hidden Truth, 3rd book is Forgotten Truth, and the last book is called Lost Truth. If you have ever read Kim Harrison's books then you will be mesmerized and the beautiful series will not disappoint.
Read full review

- Angela

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-26-2010
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.