Heritage of Cyador : Saga of Recluce

  • by L. E. Modesitt, Jr.
  • Narrated by Kirby Heyborne
  • Series: Saga of Recluce
  • 23 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Scarcely a year after the events of Cyador's Heirs, Lerial uses his mastery of Order and Chaos, the competing natural forces that shape his world and define the magic that exists within it, to utterly destroy an Afritan military force crossing into Cigoerne. Five years later, Lerial, now an overcaptain and a field commander of Cigoerne's Mirror Lancers, must lead three companies of troops into Afrit on a mission of mutual interest: neighboring Heldya is threatening to invade Afrit, and if that nation falls, Cigoerne is certain to be next.
The mission is both delicate and dangerous; Lerial's value in the effort to repel Heldya is undeniable, but his troubled history against Afrit may reopen old wounds that will never truly heal.


What the Critics Say

"Add in magic based on chaos and order, and this saga comes alive." (Rebecca Gerber, Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

He's done it again

I keep waiting for a book in this series to be mediocre but as usual Modesitt has produced another great read/listen.
Read full review

- Brian Perlmutter "bsp"

An annoying robotic delivery

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

Better delivery on the narration. It sounds like a robot did the narration.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Heritage of Cyador?

I have not finished it yet, and I am not sure I have the endurance to do it with the narration

How could the performance have been better?

Less robotic delivery and certain less of the attempt at comedy accents.

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

Not a question of the story, just the narration

Any additional comments?

I never knew Steven Hawkings did book narration, he even has a silly accent programmed into his synthesiser.

Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-27-2015
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio