• Here There Be Monsters

  • By: Meljean Brook
  • Narrated by: Faye Adele
  • Length: 3 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Release date: 11-01-11
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.4 (80 ratings)

Regular price: $24.50

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Meljean Brook launches a bold new steampunk series about a woman who strikes a provocative-and terrifying-bargain for freedom.
©2011 Meljean Brook (P)2011 Penguin
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Erika on 12-03-11

Only 1 complaint -- TOO SHORT!

I loved the story of Ivy Blacksmith and Eben "Mad" Machen. As an introduction to Meljean's Iron Duke steampunk series, this is an amazing start. The very interesting and intriguing world building in this novella powerfully sets up the series. (My only complaint is that it was not a full length novel.) Meljean's heroes and heriones are always multi-dimensional, and Ivy Blacksmith is no exception. She is extremely intelligent, strong-willed, and equally matched by the pirate Machen. The story is entertainingly romantic and I hope to see more of these two characters some day. Yet, while I love the story, it is the audio rendition of this tale that is marvelous. Faye Adele's wonderful and rich reading of this story is absolutely magical. It is one of the best audiobooks that I have heard in a long time. There is so much variety to her voice, giving nuance to each characterization without it ever feeling forced. She articulates the inner thoughts of the characters in such lively and natural ways that I find myself listening to this download over and over again.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Jan on 05-25-13

A Bargain!

Any additional comments?

The Iron Seas series is one of the most well-crafted out there. World building is top-notch. This novella is a stand alone, and can be read at any point in the series. The events are set before Book 1 and the main characters make an appearance in Book 2.
Although it's only a novella, it is every bit as entertaining (action, emotion, the works!) as the full length novels. It's worth a credit, so I think it's a bargain for under $10.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc