Happy Hour in Hell : Bobby Dollar

  • by Tad Williams
  • Narrated by Tim Flavin
  • Series: Bobby Dollar
  • 16 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Bobby Dollar has a problem or four of epic proportions.
Problem one: his best friend Sam has given him an angel's feather that also happens to be evidence of an unholy pact between Bobby's employers and those who dwell in the infernal depths.
Problem two: Eligor, Grand Duke of Hell, wants to get his claws on the feather at all costs, but particularly at all cost to Bobby.
Problem three: Bobby has fallen in love with Casimira, Countess of Cold Hands, who just happens to be Eligor's girlfriend.
Problem four: Eligor, aware of Problem three, has whisked Casimira off to the Bottomless Pit itself, telling Bobby he will never see her again unless he hands over the feather.
But Bobby, long-time veteran of the endless war between above and below, is not the type of guy who finds Hell intimidating. All he has to do is toss on a demon's body, sneak through the infernal gates, solve the mystery of the angel's feather, and rescue the girl. Saving the day should just be a matter of an eon or two of anguish, mutilation and horror. If only it were that easy.

More

What the Critics Say

"Readers who enjoy Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere, Kate Griffin's A Madness of Angels, Jim Butcher's Dresden Files will most likely be as entertained as I was... Highly recommended." (SFF World)

More

Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Poor Poor Performance

Would you try another book from Tad Williams and/or Tim Flavin?

Tad Williams YES, Tim Flavin NO!


Would you be willing to try another book from Tad Williams? Why or why not?

I liked, nay, really liked the first book. The performance of the second killed it for me. Why they changed to Tim Flavin is beyond me. I wonder if Tad Williams has any input as to who reads his books?At this stage, I will not be purchasing the third book until/if they change the narrator.


How could the performance have been better?

Simply put, can the narrator. Hold off on release until Joe May was able to record.


Do you think Happy Hour in Hell needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

It has a follow up book, and it is needed, to further the story, particularly with the way it was left.


Any additional comments?

I am trying not to be too harsh, after all it is a job for this guy, same as anyone else. And I doubt anyone would like some random Joe beating on his work performance. But in saying that, this performance brought the entire work down. It pulls you out of the story that Tad Williams has crafted. I had to grit my teeth and continue on with it. At times I felt like throwing the "book" across the room, if only it wasn't my iPhone I was holding.

Read full review

- Steve Marriott

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-26-2013
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton