• by Stuart B. MacBride
  • Narrated by Angus King
  • 11 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Terrifying serial killer thriller set in the gritty Glasgow of the near future, from the best-selling author of the Logan McRae series.There are worse things than the death penalty….
They call them halfheads: convicted criminals, surgically mutilated and lobotomized by the State, then sent out to do menial jobs in the community so everyone will know what happens when you break the law. There are no appeals, no reprieves, and no one ever comes back. Until now.
Dr Fiona Westfield, one of the most prolific serial killers Glasgow has ever seen, is waking up. Surrounded by blood and death and darkness.
William Hunter has risen through the ranks since putting Westfield away; now he’s Assistant Network Director, in charge of police actions. But a routine murder investigation is about to embroil him in an appalling conspiracy.
The vast connurb blocks on Glasgow’s deprived south side are ready to explode. Eleven years ago the VR riots killed millions – now someone wants to start them all over again. And Will is being dragged back into a past he desperately wants to forget….


What the Critics Say

"Slick, gruesome and brutally intelligent, this is bare knucklesthriller-writing." (Michael Marshall)
"Compelling." (SFX)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

MacBride can tell a story!

I'm a huge fan of His Beardiness' and didn't know what to expect from this foray into sci-fi of his. Hooked me from the first page and I could NOT put it down. There's something in the way MacBride grabs me with his characters, dialogue and very dark humor that lets me accept a level of creepiness and violence that would turn me off of other authors. His very human heroes get really really scared, which gives their heroics more weight, and keeps me biting my nails. The cliffhanger ending seemed like a setup for a follow up visit to this dystopian world. Hope so. Still never read a MacBride book I didn't chow down like candy. Angus King does a brilliant job bringing it all to life.
Read full review

- 6catz

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-25-2011
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited