Great Classic Science Fiction

  • by H. G. Wells, Stanley G. Weinbaum, Lester Del Rey, Fritz Leiber, James Schmitz, Philip K. Dick, Frank Herbert
  • Narrated by Simon Vance, Barbara Rosenblat, Nick Sullivan, Robert Fass, Katherine Kellgren, Scott Brick, Stephen Thorne, Greg Itzin
  • 7 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This superlative collection of futuristic tales explores ground-breaking supernatural themes from the founding heroes of the science-fiction genre. The short story form is perfect for capturing the atmospheric tension of these legendary stories. The collection includes: "The Door in the Wall" by H. G. Wells, "All Cats Are Gray" by Andre Norton, "A Martian Odyssey" by Stanley G. Weinbaum, "Victory" by Lester del Rey, "The Moon Is Green" by Fritz Leiber, "The Winds of Time" by James H. Schmitz, "The Defenders" by Philip K. Dick, and "Missing Link" by Frank Herbert.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great authors, good stories

A very interesting and quite good collection.

These are some of the greatest authors in Sci-Fi, although the stories aren't necessarily the best written, or best known, short stories in the authors' respective portfolios (with the exception of Weinbaum's "Martian Odyssey").

For the most part, these are classic style sci-fi stories, crawling with aliens, spaceships and strange new worlds. Two of the stories (Leiber's and Dick's) are post-nuclear-holocaust Earth and Wells' story is set in contemporary (to him) Earth.

Well delivered by a mix of great readers.

Worth a listen, particularly for genre fans who want to explore some great authors' "b-list" stories.
Read full review

- Joel D Offenberg

some good some bad

The first three stories were absolute crap. The rest were good. "Victory" was excellent.
Read full review

- michael

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-12-2010
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.