Grail : Pendragon Cycle

  • by Stephen R. Lawhead
  • Narrated by Robert Whitfield
  • Series: Pendragon Cycle
  • 11 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Drought, plague, and war have left the Isle of Mighty battered and the beloved King Arthur grievously injured. But astonishingly, the High King lives, his wounds healed by a sacred and secret relic: the Holy Grail. Now, in this time of rampant disease and death, the great king wants to share the Grail's curative powers with all who require it. But with the Grail, evil has entered the royal court, in the guise of a beautiful maiden who seduces the King's most loyal champion. Confounding both Arthur and the sage Merlin, evil abducts the Grail, along with Arthur's beloved Queen, and carries them off into the dark unknown. Now Arthur faces the greatest challenge of his sovereignty: to recover his lost treasures. It will lead him through realms of magic and the undead, on a trail that winds inexorably toward a grim confrontation with his most foul nemesis - and his destiny.


What the Critics Say

"Suspenseful...soulful, philosophical...engagingly drawn...Arthurian Britain is invoked with robust verisimilitude." (Publishers Weekly)
"An exciting and thoughtful addition to the ranks of Arthurian fantasy." (Locus)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


This book seemed better-written than the previous ones, and should have gotten four stars. Ultimately, though, I had a really hard time getting into it. The fact that the events of the book take place *before* the end of Arthur made it difficult for me to take anything seriously, as I already basically knew the limits of the narrative.

Otherwise the book follows its predecessors well, presenting an interesting adversary and a fresh point of view. It was generally well-read, although at a few times the reader failed to properly portray certain emotions. I overall preferred this reader to the previous books.
Read full review

- Mark

The brilliant conclusion

Grail is the brilliant conclusion to the Pendragon Cycle by Stephen R. Lawhead. It tells the tale of Arthur and the Holy Grail, from the point of view of Gwalchavad (Galahad) and Morgian (Morganna). Llenweagh (Lancelot), is bewitched by Morgian's daughter Morgaws, steals the Grail, Arthur's sword and abducted Queen Gwynhyvar. Gwalchavad, Bors and Gereint set out on a quest to regain the Holy Grail and rescue their Queen and King and their fellowship from the clutches of Morgian. A brilliant narration by Robert Whitfield makes this The best listen in the Pendragon Cycle.
Read full review

- James

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-02-2009
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.